Thread Tools Display Modes
03-02-12, 06:33 AM   #1
laukond
A Black Drake
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 87
Hide Action Bar Number Indicator

^ How to hide? It's the text beside ActionBarUpButton / DownButton.
  Reply With Quote
03-05-12, 02:27 AM   #2
suicidalkatt
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
 
suicidalkatt's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 331
Originally Posted by laukond View Post
^ How to hide? It's the text beside ActionBarUpButton / DownButton.
What text is this? Screenshot?
  Reply With Quote
03-05-12, 07:15 AM   #3
laukond
A Black Drake
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 87
Originally Posted by suicidalkatt View Post
What text is this? Screenshot?
There you go. It is the number in the red circle to the right of the action bars.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_030512_141056.jpg
Views:	1175
Size:	434.8 KB
ID:	6800  
  Reply With Quote
03-05-12, 07:22 AM   #4
zork
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
zork's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,740
Source:
https://github.com/tekkub/wow-ui-sou...nuBar.lua#L187

Thus you may use:
Code:
MainMenuBarPageNumber:SetAlpha(0)
Next time try to using /fstack and hover the frame. If it has a global name you may get it.
__________________
| Simple is beautiful.
| WoWI AddOns | GitHub | Zork (WoW)

"I wonder what the non-pathetic people are doing tonight?" - Rajesh Koothrappali (The Big Bang Theory)

Last edited by zork : 03-05-12 at 07:26 AM.
  Reply With Quote
03-05-12, 07:25 AM   #5
laukond
A Black Drake
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 87
Originally Posted by zork View Post
Source:
https://github.com/tekkub/wow-ui-sou...nuBar.lua#L187

Thus you may use:
Code:
MainMenuBarPageNumber:SetAlpha(0)
Are there any reason to :SetAlpha(0) rather than :Hide()?
Sorry if it's a stupid question.
  Reply With Quote
03-05-12, 07:29 AM   #6
zork
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
zork's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,740
You can use Hide(). But if the frame is re-shown by the default UI (maybe after exiting a vehicle) you have to hide it again (which is prohibited in combat = taint).
__________________
| Simple is beautiful.
| WoWI AddOns | GitHub | Zork (WoW)

"I wonder what the non-pathetic people are doing tonight?" - Rajesh Koothrappali (The Big Bang Theory)
  Reply With Quote
03-05-12, 07:30 AM   #7
laukond
A Black Drake
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 87
Originally Posted by zork View Post
You can use Hide(). But if the frame is re-shown by the default UI (maybe after exiting a vehicle) you have to hide it again (which is prohibited in combat = taint).
So SetAlpha is better than Hide in general?
  Reply With Quote
03-05-12, 07:34 AM   #8
zork
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
zork's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,740
Not per se. With using Hide() the frame will be gone. That is pretty important for frames with mouse-behaviour (thus you cannot click through them).

If the frame is not reshown by the default UI Hide() is the best option. It just may get you in trouble if the frame is reshown on condition by the default UI later.

Another option is to have your own frame that you hide. And you just reparent the frame you want to hide to that frame. Since the parent is hidden all childs will follow.

lua Code:
  1. local f = CreateFrame("Frame", "BlizzardUIHider", UIParent)
  2. f:Hide()
  3. MainMenuBarPageNumber:SetParent(f)

You can even hide any frame you want by parenting it to the BlizzardUIHider-frame.
__________________
| Simple is beautiful.
| WoWI AddOns | GitHub | Zork (WoW)

"I wonder what the non-pathetic people are doing tonight?" - Rajesh Koothrappali (The Big Bang Theory)

Last edited by zork : 03-05-12 at 07:39 AM.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Lua/XML Help » Hide Action Bar Number Indicator


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off