Thread Tools Display Modes
12-14-09, 04:19 AM   #1
Zhek
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Dashboard layout images / bigger images

So I've started adding some personalized images in my layout and I've been wondering if it there was a tutorial on how to add those, because I don't know jack about scripting and whatnot.

Also, is it possible to align the five dashboard images normally in 512 in width, but making it a 1024x1024 texture, leave half of it transparent so I can have more height to add custom pics.
 
12-14-09, 05:16 AM   #2
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
There are a couple of stickies at the top of this forum that describe how to slice the images up and there's a thread here ( http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=21404 ) which contains a fair bit of info on the subject, as well.

In short, copy one of the other skins to a new directory and rename everything to the name you want to give your skin. Edit the .toc file and change the names there to match the names you gave your skin. Also edit the .lua file and change the names there to make the names of your artwork files. That should pretty much do it. I think once you look inside the .toc and the .lua file you'll see that it's fairly simple.

As for your questions about the 1024x1024 images... no, you can't. 512x512 is the maximum that WoW will allow (unless they've changed it and I didn't know it)
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
12-14-09, 01:52 PM   #3
Zhek
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Well, to go around the texture size limit, I'd want to add two other textures just on top of the already-coded side textures. I've got it all sliced up and ready on photoshop, but what's stopping me is the code part. I have no idea where to go and what to edit/add to make it fit in the screen, keep it scalable like the rest of the dashboard and position it so it's seamlessly fit just on top of the side textures.

[Edit] And just by digging I found what I wanted. For those seeking the same thing;

In nUI.xml, it's pretty much after the 15-20 first lines, there's your texture list for the bottombar, modified by the layout mods. My guess is if you want to add a few, you need to add other textures and offset them in the proper position. If you want them right on top, the offset should be y="512". Notice that's to be put in the Anchor's offset, and not the size.

Correct me if I'm wrong :P

Last edited by Zhek : 12-14-09 at 02:02 PM.
 
12-14-09, 02:57 PM   #4
Zhek
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Well, one hour later and I'm stuck.

Basicly, I wanted to hardcode in the nUI.xml another bar to put over the bottombar so I could fill it in with other textures. I've down that, it shows the nUI_Dashboard5top.blp (added it on top of the far right texture, on top of it). Problem is when I go on my layout addon to replace it with a different texture, say nUI_GlossBlack5top (far right, on top of it), it doesn't replace it, which leaves a pretty lady with only legs and no top.

Here's what I changed in the codes :

In the main nUI.xml
Code:
<Texture name="nUI_BottomBars5top" file="Interface\AddOns\nUI\Layouts\Default\Art\nUI_Dashboard5top.blp" 

alphaMode="BLEND" frameLevel="1">
							<Size>
								<AbsDimension x="512" y="512" />
							</Size>
							<Anchors>
								<Anchor point="BOTTOMLEFT" relativePoint="BOTTOM">
									<Offset>
										<AbsDimension x="768" y="842" />
									</Offset>
								</Anchor>
							</Anchors>
							<TexCoords left="0" right="1.0" top="1" bottom="0"/>
						</Texture>
And here's the line I added to the Layout mod
Code:
nUI_BottomBars5top:SetTexture( "Interface\\AddOns\\nUI_GlossBlack\\nUI_GlossBlack5top" );
In the Layour mod, it doesn't want to replace the texture. Something tells me I didn't add the Bottombars5top texture somewhere else in a file, but I have no idea where
 
12-14-09, 03:08 PM   #5
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Yeah -- you don't actually want to modify nUI.xml because then it gets trashed by updates. Better to do it in your own XML file or even in the Lua. If I can get some time to work on it tonight, I'll see if I can put something together for you to work from.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
12-14-09, 03:40 PM   #6
Zhek
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
It would be appreciated. I'll look around as well to see if I can learn how to integrate it via mod by myself.
 
 

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » Customization » nUI: Customizing Layouts » Dashboard layout images / bigger images

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off