Thread Tools Display Modes
09-05-16, 03:05 AM   #1
MetzgersWitwe
A Defias Bandit
 
MetzgersWitwe's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
beautycase doesn't work on 2 AddOns

Hello

I'm trying to skin my cast bar (Gnosis) with beautycase but it doesn't work.

I made a small addon, zBorders with all my Bordercode inside and i managed to skin my minimap, kgpanesl, Shadowed Unitframes and Tooltip and this was no problem finding framenames with /fstack but on gnosis it just shows player and target for the castbars and this doesn't work, it returned a nil value for 'player'

I also couldn't skin my FeralDotDamage Addon. fstack showed me for the energy bar for example FeralDotDamageMainFrameEnergy but it returns a nill value too.

My Code

Code:
-- Creating the Beautycase Borders for the Frames

-- Minimap 
Minimap:CreateBeautyBorder(12)

-- Tooltip
GameTooltip:CreateBeautyBorder(12)

-- OneBag3
OneBagFrame:CreateBeautyBorder(12)

-- FeralDotDamage
FeralDotDamageMainFrameStatusBarEnergy:CreateBeautyBorder(12)

-- Gnosis
player:CreateBeautyBorder(12)
target:CreateBeautyBorder(12)

-- Shadowed Unit Frames
local SUFUnits = ShadowUF.Units
local CreateUnit = SUFUnits.CreateUnit

function SUFUnits.CreateUnit(...)
	local frame = CreateUnit(...)
	frame:CreateBeautyBorder(12)
	return frame
end
Errors i grabbed

Code:
1x ZBorders\code.lua:13: attempt to index global 'FeralDotDamageMainFrameStatusBarEnergy' (a nil value)
ZBorders\code.lua:13: in main chunk

1x ZBorders\code.lua:15: attempt to index global 'player' (a nil value)
ZBorders\code.lua:15: in main chunk

1x ZBorders\code.lua:16: attempt to index global 'target' (a nil value)
ZBorders\code.lua:15: in main chunk
  Reply With Quote
09-05-16, 04:00 AM   #2
ObbleYeah
A Cobalt Mageweaver
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 210
try this

Lua Code:
  1. local f = CreateFrame'Frame'
  2. f:RegisterEvent'ADDON_LOADED'
  3. f:SetScript('OnEvent', function(_, _, addon)
  4.     if addon == 'FeralDotDamage' then
  5.         FeralDotDamageMainFrameStatusBarEnergy:CreateBeautyBorder(12)
  6.         f:UnregisterAllEvents()
  7.     end
  8. end)

if that doesn't work, try:

Lua Code:
  1. if IsAddOnLoaded'FeralDotDamage' then
  2.      print'feraldotdamage has loaded'  --  you can delete this afterwards, its just to see if the addon is loaded before zBorders is
  3.     FeralDotDamageMainFrameStatusBarEnergy:CreateBeautyBorder(12)
  4. end

i've noticed some weird issues with order of addon loading, and i think i remember a friend telling me his were being loaded in order from z to a on the beta — might be the case live too.

those gnosis frame names are either wrong (likely) or very very badly named globals. the error suggests the former. if the latter, yikes — i'd personally find the source code and give them reasonable names. 'gnosis_player' etc.

Last edited by ObbleYeah : 09-05-16 at 04:10 AM.
  Reply With Quote
09-05-16, 05:59 AM   #3
MetzgersWitwe
A Defias Bandit
 
MetzgersWitwe's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Hello ObbleYeah

thanks for your suggestions. The error on my Feral Dot Damage went away but still no border. I tried it also with a new created AddOn ABorders but neither way the borders won't show up.

I've made a screenshot about /fstack on gnosis playercastbar too.

http://image.prntscr.com/image/dff28...3b89e9a109.jpg


Edit. Ok, I just grabbed another Castbar, AzCastBar and it worked like a charm but FeralDotDamage still can't be bordered. :-)

Last edited by MetzgersWitwe : 09-05-16 at 12:39 PM.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Help/Support » beautycase doesn't work on 2 AddOns

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off