12-06-17, 10:20 AM   #1
vis781
A Fallenroot Satyr
Dynamic frame resize, whilst in combat?

Hi there, first post here and a newbie member so thank you for taking the time to read this..

I am an experienced asm/c/c++ programmer that loves wow and am having a go at writing my first addon. I have no problems with events, frames, textures and understanding coding in general.

The problem I have is this.. I am creating a target unit frame ( a simple one ) and all I want it to do right now is dynamically change its width based on the width of the targets name. I have the frame with some text for the name of the target all doing what it should except for combat... now you see my problem, I can't change the width of the frame whilst in combat to match the width of the new targets name, not allowed and I get why.

Thing is I have seen frames dynamically resize whilst in combat.. i.e raid frames, so it must be possible...

Now I think I need to be involved with RegisterStateDriver and secure frame wrapscript etc.. I mean I have a secure frame, that's easy, and I understand setting attributes, however I don't know how to respond to a change of target in the frames secure environment. I do hope this makes sense.. or you get the idea of what i'm trying to do.... should be simple to do I think, but I just can't see it.

Thank you all for reading

Kind regards

v

p.s I have posted this in the wrong forum, I'm very sorry, could a mod please move it for me? Thank you.

Last edited by vis781 : 12-06-17 at 10:23 AM. Reason: typo, posted in wrong forum ( sorry )
12-06-17, 10:52 AM   #2
Kanegasi
A Molten Giant

AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Anything clickable for combat, such as buttons or in this case the target frame, cannot be altered while in combat. The raid frames adding people in combat is Blizzard's secure code, which is why they can change. There is very limited options for custom secure code, and moving/resizing is not included.