Quantcast How to download? - WoWInterface
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
12-22-14, 05:37 PM   #1
kc9718
A Murloc Raider
 
kc9718's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 6
How to download?

With Carbonite Maps Module being the MAIN & showing up in the Addon folder as "Carbonite"...

Do you:

A.) download all the *other* modules (Quest, Social, etc.) to the Carbonite folder as 'sub-folders' under Carbonite,

*OR*

B.) download all the other modules to the Addon folder, like you do for any 'new' *separate* addon?
  Reply With Quote
12-22-14, 05:43 PM   #2
R_OReilly
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 28
The answer is (B). Curse client does the same.

Last edited by ircdirk : 12-27-14 at 04:40 AM.
  Reply With Quote
12-22-14, 05:57 PM   #3
kc9718
A Murloc Raider
 
kc9718's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 6
Originally Posted by R_OReilly View Post
The answer is (B). Curse client does the same.
Curse Client is what CAUSED me to ask my question in the first place... it installed them to the *Carbonite* folder, and all I got on starting game play was a whole herd of errors. Over the last couple of years, a few incidents like this have happened using the Curse Client. I normally manually install, but with several new Carbonite releases (modules, as I now know) I decided to let Curse Client do it on 'auto'. I figured I would just come and read the latest posts here, but found that all of the threads were recently archived, to clean the Forum up for all of the new posts on the new releases. Thought this would be a good 'first question' for many.
  Reply With Quote
12-26-14, 08:57 AM   #4
R_OReilly
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 28
Sorry for the delayed response. I'm a Carbonite user so the Devs may correct me if I'm wrong.

Prior to installing the pre-release version from Github I had used Curse to remove the old 5.4 version of Carbonite. I also checked directly to see that all the directories had been removed. Since I started with a pre-release 6.0 install that may be why Curse saw them and laid down the rest correctly. I did have to manually download/install the Warehouse module as it hadn't come up on Curse at the time.

Not sure if your situation is similar. I'd say manually uninstall then try again with Curse. If that doesn't do it then manually uninstall and install 6.0 in the separate folders and Curse should recognize them going forward.

As far as I know, the bulk of the archived threads had to do with the pre-release debug/test or 5.4 and below. The new forum layout was created for the 6.0 release.
  Reply With Quote
12-26-14, 10:17 AM   #5
Crashpkbk
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 4
Originally Posted by kc9718 View Post
Curse Client is what CAUSED me to ask my question in the first place... it installed them to the *Carbonite* folder, and all I got on starting game play was a whole herd of errors. Over the last couple of years, a few incidents like this have happened using the Curse Client. I normally manually install, but with several new Carbonite releases (modules, as I now know) I decided to let Curse Client do it on 'auto'. I figured I would just come and read the latest posts here, but found that all of the threads were recently archived, to clean the Forum up for all of the new posts on the new releases. Thought this would be a good 'first question' for many.
Where are you downloading and installing from? The link on the site or from GitHub?

Crash
  Reply With Quote
12-27-14, 04:43 AM   #6
ircdirk
A Molten Giant
 
ircdirk's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 796
If u use Curse client to download Live version and u did have older version (ie 5.2.5) u have to download all other modules also. Now Carbonite is separated to modules and Curse client when downloading main Carbonites Maps addon will delete all old Carbonite folders. So if u dont download all other Carbonite modules u will have only main Carbonite Maps module.
  Reply With Quote
12-27-14, 04:52 AM   #7
samyonair
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
samyonair's Avatar
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 257
Hi have a look into this Sticky thread will rename it for better understanding

Carbonite since 6.0

Greetings Samyonair
  Reply With Quote
12-27-14, 05:02 AM   #8
Kreelor
A Firelord
 
Kreelor's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 495
Miscellaneous Samples And Comments

Since there isn't a separate sub-forum named "Off Topic," or "Miscellaneous, I'll post this here. It can be deleted if it's not relevant.

First, I modified what is shown on Wowinterface's Carbonite addon page. Maybe new users would find it helpful (if it was there instead of the current one)?

Secondly, I'm wondering why Carbonite is using 2 distinctly different logos? Neither of them have a copyright notice .
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Latest_Carbonite_Downloads.jpg
Views:	299
Size:	301.1 KB
ID:	8391  Click image for larger version

Name:	Carbonite_Logo_Rythal.jpg
Views:	235
Size:	32.1 KB
ID:	8392  Click image for larger version

Name:	Carbonite_Logo.jpg
Views:	231
Size:	19.8 KB
ID:	8393  
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » Carbonite » Carbonite: General Discussion » How to download?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off