Quantcast $653 crysis computer - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
06-14-08, 09:02 PM   #1
Dreadlorde
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Dreadlorde's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,302
$653 crysis computer

In PC Gamer this week, Crytek has built its own machine capable of running Crysis, with full effects and all of the bells and whistles, for only $652.99. Can you say win?
Code:
Part||---------------------------------------||Cost----
Shuttle SG31G25 Barebone Case----------------||$239.99
Intel Pentium E2180 2.0GHz Dual-Core CPU-----||$82.99
Samsung SH-S203B DVD burner------------------||$29.99
Hitachi Desksta 160GB hard drive-------------||$48.99
A-Data 2GB DDr2 SDRAM------------------------||$45.99
MSI GeFore 8600GT 512 videocard*-------------||$94.99
Microsoft Windows Vista 32-Bit Home Premium**||$109.99
-------------------------------------------------------
Total                                          $652.99
*I would swap it for the GeFore GTX 280 1GB
**I would swap it for just the home edition of...vista..damn it..
__________________

Funtoo - Plan 9 - Windows 7
  Reply With Quote
06-14-08, 10:29 PM   #2
Eas
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
 
Eas's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 311
wow... that's awesome. nice find dread
  Reply With Quote
06-15-08, 02:40 AM   #3
robthedude
Don't Panic
 
robthedude's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 364
Aside from WoW, I don't play pc games, I'm an xbox man.
Am I right in thinking that Crysis is THE most graphicly intensive game on the market at this time?
And does that mean that this setup could potentially run ANY pc game around with the setting on flat out?
__________________

  Reply With Quote
06-15-08, 04:13 AM   #4
Dreadlorde
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Dreadlorde's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,302
Originally Posted by robthedude View Post
Am I right in thinking that Crysis is THE most graphicly intensive game on the market at this time?
And does that mean that this setup could potentially run ANY pc game around with the setting on flat out?
Yes. Hehehe.
__________________

Funtoo - Plan 9 - Windows 7
  Reply With Quote
06-15-08, 04:19 AM   #5
Zyonin
Coffee powered Kaldorei
 
Zyonin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,440
This means that you can build a machine that will run any game that uses the Crytek engine including the upcoming MMO, Aion for fairly cheap. Interesting. Too bad I am broke currently as this old beast of mine is in dire need of replacement.
__________________
LiveJournal | Twitter

  Reply With Quote
06-15-08, 07:03 AM   #6
Takatalvi
A Cliff Giant
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 74
Yes, Very nice indeed.
Computer Hardware is getting exceedingly cheaper.
Why you might ask? Well thats very easy,
First and foremost, there well ALWAYS be something better. Competition is High in the computer industry. Although Intel and nVidia Seem to be running the show at the moment.
Because of this, at "top-of-the-line" PC you built a year ago, would be worth almost half it's value today.

Rule #1 In PC building: Wait, Prices Drop Dramatically over weeks in time, not years.

Thats my 2 cents. Nice find man! Crytech Engine will rule them all. I can't wait for SC2.
  Reply With Quote
06-15-08, 07:57 AM   #7
Kaomie
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
Kaomie's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 438
Originally Posted by Dreadlorde View Post
*I would swap it for the GeFore GTX 280 1GB
This is a Shuttle case, a micro-tower. There is no way you will fit this in there (not to mention that if you are willing to spend $600 on the GTX 280, why would you even bother with prices anyway). With what he puts inside you have maxed out the capacity of the box. Wonder how hot it will get too (parts are packed inside and airflow is not really there) and how well it actually performs with Crysis (slide-show mode 10 FPS at any decent resolution?). So okay it may work, but this is pushing it.
__________________
Kaomie
"WE LOTS OF PEOPLE FROM STRONG SERVER GUILDS" - Trade Channel

Last edited by Kaomie : 06-15-08 at 10:33 AM.
  Reply With Quote
06-15-08, 10:12 AM   #8
Petrah
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Petrah's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,988
I wouldn't use a tiny box like that either. Personally, I would go with a Lian Li PC-60 Plus II Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower for around $135.99 USD. Much much better tower for gaming imho.
  Reply With Quote
06-15-08, 11:23 AM   #9
blackpandemic
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
blackpandemic's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 123
Originally Posted by robthedude View Post
Am I right in thinking that Crysis is THE most graphicly intensive game on the market at this time?
Yeah and that's all Crysis has going for it really. I found it dreadfully boring and repetitive, despite its gorgeous looks.

As for using a micro tower, I agree. I have an Antec P-182 (a monster of a case) and things still tend to get a little warm, despite the amount of room and the number of fans I have in here. I don't think I'd ever cram things into a smaller space. Also, if you get a smaller case the room for expansion is nill. The card I just got (8800 GT) is only about an inch from hitting my hard drive bay due to it's length. And I never thought I'd have that problem in this case :P

Third thing, if I ever get Vista I'd never throttle myself with 2G of RAM.

Just my two cents
__________________
"It is forbidden to kill; therefore all murderers are punished unless they kill in large numbers and to the sound of trumpets." -Voltaire
  Reply With Quote
06-15-08, 04:13 PM   #10
Sepioth
A Molten Giant
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 894
It's a decent computer but for another $100.00 you can get a bigger case (with a more powerful PSU), faster CPU, faster video card, bigger HD.

I just quickly pieced one from Newegg.com and it cost $735 .... of course that does not include ant taxes shipping and handling and rebates as well. It it is better and faster than the one above.

I also pieced the exact copy in the OP (minus the case and as best as I could considering there is not to much tech info on the parts listed.) at newegg.com and it came out to about $600 (and that includes the price of the OP's listed case.)
  Reply With Quote
06-15-08, 06:12 PM   #11
Tuller
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
 
Tuller's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 91
Also, when they say "full effects" they don't mean max settings.
  Reply With Quote
06-15-08, 06:31 PM   #12
gothicknight
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
gothicknight's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 131
This Crytek Computer will be capable of running Cryisis at 1280x768 Resolution at High Settings. Not maxed out. They also pack it with XP Home SP2. Not this machine wont necessarily run evry game maxed out. But it is good start. High settings on Crysis looks beautiful but they failed to specify what lvl of AA it will be able to run. The following is what they plan to release:

CPU - Intel Core2Duo E6750
GPU - GeForce 8800GT 512MB
Motherboard - NVIDIA nForce 650i Socket 775
PSU - 600W ATX12V
RAM - 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit
HDD - SATA 250GB 7200RPM
DVD - 20x DVD±R Burner
Case - ATX Midi Tower Computer Case
OS - Microsoft Windows XP Home with SP2

at approx $900.

That is just the box. No peripherals. Still a very nice machine, but i think i will stick with mine.

Intel QX9650 (Quad Core Xtreme 3.0ghz)
4GB Corsair 800mhz Ram
Dual 8800GT (SLI)

But still a very nice mid-range computer. I guess they got sick of hearing "will my computer run Crysis"

To read more about this got to http://kotaku.com/345278/crytek-spec...able-crysis-pc

Last edited by gothicknight : 06-15-08 at 07:43 PM.
  Reply With Quote
06-15-08, 07:09 PM   #13
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,728
Yeah... RAM is so cheap nowadays, 2G isn't that great anymore. My laptop has 2G RAM and Vista Premium and I find myself wishing for improvements.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
06-15-08, 09:02 PM   #14
Sepioth
A Molten Giant
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 894
Originally Posted by gothicknight View Post
This Crytek Computer will be capable of running Cryisis at 1280x768 Resolution at High Settings. Not maxed out. They also pack it with XP Home SP2. Not this machine wont necessarily run evry game maxed out. But it is good start. High settings on Crysis looks beautiful but they failed to specify what lvl of AA it will be able to run. The following is what they plan to release:

CPU - Intel Core2Duo E6750
GPU - GeForce 8800GT 512MB
Motherboard - NVIDIA nForce 650i Socket 775
PSU - 600W ATX12V
RAM - 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit
HDD - SATA 250GB 7200RPM
DVD - 20x DVD±R Burner
Case - ATX Midi Tower Computer Case
OS - Microsoft Windows XP Home with SP2

at approx $900.

That is just the box. No peripherals. Still a very nice machine, but i think i will stick with mine.

Intel QX9650 (Quad Core Xtreme 3.0ghz)
4GB Corsair 800mhz Ram
Dual 8800GT (SLI)

But still a very nice mid-range computer. I guess they got sick of hearing "will my computer run Crysis"

To read more about this got to http://kotaku.com/345278/crytek-spec...able-crysis-pc
That's pretty much what I spec'd out when I did mine on newegg quickly. Only diff was I had a slightly slower CPU. I used the E4600 running at 2.4. The one above is a 2.66 .. not much difference or performance boost for the extra $50-60 difference in CPU Costs.
  Reply With Quote
06-15-08, 09:50 PM   #15
blackpandemic
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
blackpandemic's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 123
Yeah sad to say you kinda wasted a ton of money SLI-ing the 8800GTs. Most video cards don't see an improvement unless you quad-SLi it and that's just a waste. But hey, if you have the cash, an extra 10FPS is always nice

Most mobo's these days (new ones, not necessarily the best, just the newer ones) support up to 8G of RAM. That makes Graphic Designer's like me drool over the speed of Photoshop/InDesign/Illustrator
__________________
"It is forbidden to kill; therefore all murderers are punished unless they kill in large numbers and to the sound of trumpets." -Voltaire
  Reply With Quote
06-15-08, 10:32 PM   #16
gothicknight
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
gothicknight's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 131
I was thinking about goin 8GB ram but i run XP Pro 32bit so no point. I also have Vista Home Premium also 32bit. I would have to get the 64bit edition and there is no point. And i agree i did waste my money SLi'ing 8800gt's but at the time i wasnt think about that
  Reply With Quote
06-15-08, 11:14 PM   #17
Dreadlorde
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Dreadlorde's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,302
Originally Posted by Kaomie View Post
This is a Shuttle case, a micro-tower. There is no way you will fit this in there (not to mention that if you are willing to spend $600 on the GTX 280, why would you even bother with prices anyway). With what he puts inside you have maxed out the capacity of the box. Wonder how hot it will get too (parts are packed inside and airflow is not really there) and how well it actually performs with Crysis (slide-show mode 10 FPS at any decent resolution?). So okay it may work, but this is pushing it.
I'd make it fit. Cut a hole in the back or something.
__________________

Funtoo - Plan 9 - Windows 7
  Reply With Quote
06-16-08, 08:28 AM   #18
Kaomie
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
Kaomie's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 438
Originally Posted by Dreadlorde View Post
I'd make it fit. Cut a hole in the back or something.
Fresh from today, the one you want is this one:
http://www.evga.com/articles/415.asp
Now try fitting a 3-way SLI of those in there
__________________
Kaomie
"WE LOTS OF PEOPLE FROM STRONG SERVER GUILDS" - Trade Channel

Last edited by Kaomie : 06-16-08 at 08:46 AM.
  Reply With Quote
06-16-08, 02:33 PM   #19
blackpandemic
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
blackpandemic's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 123
Originally Posted by Kaomie View Post
Fresh from today, the one you want is this one:
http://www.evga.com/articles/415.asp
Now try fitting a 3-way SLI of those in there
Now that's just ridiculous lol
__________________
"It is forbidden to kill; therefore all murderers are punished unless they kill in large numbers and to the sound of trumpets." -Voltaire
  Reply With Quote
06-16-08, 07:17 PM   #20
Alkar
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
Alkar's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 195
I just parted together a new system from new egg like 2 weeks ago $683.00
Intel Q6600
ASUS P5N-E SLI LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 650i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard
XFX GeForce 8800 GT PVT88PYDF4 Video Card - Retail
GeForce 8800 GT
512MB GDDR3
PCI Express 2.0 x16
800w PSU
ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro (CPU Cooler)
Artic silver CPU Paste



didnt need mem or case since i already had them but the system quality is huge from what i had.


AMD 3500
MSI K9n
2gigs buffalo duel channel
Zogis nvidia 7950

So for about 700.00 if you have some parts already isnt bad for a huge huge upgrade. i went from 10fps to 60fp and 50 in the city in AOC on high settings mind you the 10fps was on low hehehe

Last edited by Alkar : 06-16-08 at 07:27 PM.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » General Discussion » Chit-Chat » $653 crysis computer

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off