Quantcast No Addons Button - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
11-06-06, 11:39 AM   #1
xtheforce
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1
No Addons Button

The "Addons" button on the character select screen is not showing up, any thoughts?
  Reply With Quote
11-06-06, 03:32 PM   #2
shouryuu
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
shouryuu's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 150
What does your install path look like? Is it
C:/Program Files/WoW/Interface/Addons/SomeAddon/Some Files

or

C:/Program Files/WoW/Interface/Addons/SomeAddon/Some Other Folder/Some Files

If its the latter, then you need the move all the "Some Files" in the SomeAddon Folder. For example, if your path for CTRA is the following

C:/Program Files/WoW/Interface/Addons/CTRA/Some Other Folder/Some Files

you want it to end up like this:

C:/Program Files/WoW/Interface/Addons/CTRA/Some Files

Last edited by shouryuu : 11-06-06 at 04:04 PM.
  Reply With Quote
11-06-06, 04:02 PM   #3
Hollas
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 10
I've got the same problem ... my "Addons" button doesn't show up either.

Does anyone have any ideas how to fix this?
  Reply With Quote
11-06-06, 04:07 PM   #4
shouryuu
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
shouryuu's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 150
My reply works for you too. make sure you have a valid install path. A valid install path is one that looks like this:

C:/Program Files/WoW/Interface/Addons/SomeAddon/SomeFiles
  Reply With Quote
11-06-06, 04:21 PM   #5
Hollas
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 10
My install path is exactly as you've outlined below i.e.
C:/Program Files/WoW/Interface/Addons/SomeAddon/SomeFiles


Any thoughts from here??
  Reply With Quote
11-06-06, 04:36 PM   #6
shouryuu
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
shouryuu's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 150
What are those files? Do you have a .toc file? What addon/addons are you trying to install? Are you sure there isn't another folder in your "SomeAddon" folder?
  Reply With Quote
11-06-06, 08:45 PM   #7
miniwarlock
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Same problem

my download path thingy is
C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Administrator\Desktop\Bongos61030.zip
now what?
  Reply With Quote
11-07-06, 12:00 AM   #8
shouryuu
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
shouryuu's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 150
Unzip it to your WoW folder? Make sure it doesn't create a second folder withing the last one.
  Reply With Quote
11-07-06, 05:14 PM   #9
miniwarlock
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
unzipping

how would i do that? Would i say send to then find wow addons folder and insert it in there?
  Reply With Quote
11-08-06, 03:44 AM   #10
huntingorc
A Murloc Raider
 
huntingorc's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
My path is C:\Program Files\World of Warcraft\Interface\AddOns\My AddOns and the Addons button isnt showing. And what is the /SomeFiles part?

Last edited by huntingorc : 11-08-06 at 03:55 AM.
  Reply With Quote
11-08-06, 05:51 AM   #11
Pigl33t
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 137
The files that make up the add-on.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
11-08-06, 06:11 AM   #12
shouryuu
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
shouryuu's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 150
miniwarlock:
Either do that or simply unzip it on your desktop, and copy paste the unziped folders to your Addons folder. Once more, make sure there are files, and not a folder, inside the unziped folder.

To huntinorc:
Could you give me an example of an install path for your install? For example give me the exact path of your CTRA or Decursive or which ever addon you want.

You should have something like this:
C:/Program Files/WoW/Interface/Addons/Decursive
Within that decursive folder you should have several *files* such as Decursive.toc, or decursive.lua.
If you have another folder named X (or whatever), within that decursive folder, then move all the files from X to the Decursive folder.
  Reply With Quote
11-08-06, 10:14 AM   #13
huntingorc
A Murloc Raider
 
huntingorc's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
I just found that all of them have a file or more in them with the same name but with a V <insert number>.0 in them, is this correct? Oh, and an example path is C:\Program Files\World of Warcraft\Interface\AddOns\My AddOns\SemiTransparentBags and that hast 3 folders in it. one is a folder that is empty called SemiTransparentBags-1[1].2.0 and the other two are SemiTransparentBags.lua and .toc
__________________
A happy druid comes from mulgore...
  Reply With Quote
11-08-06, 10:45 AM   #14
shouryuu
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
shouryuu's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 150
No that isn't. What you want to do is copy the folder called SemiTransparentBag, not the SemiTransparentBags-1[1].2.0, and past it in your Addon directory, not in the "MyAddons" directory.

The MyAddons directory is one too many, try copying everything in that directory, and pasting it in the Addon directory, so you end up with:

C:/Program Files/WoW/Interface/Addons/SemiTransparentBags
And in that SemiTransparentBags folder, you'll have files such as SemiTransparentBags.lua and SemiTransparentBags.toc.
  Reply With Quote
11-08-06, 11:26 AM   #15
Zyonin
Coffee powered Kaldorei
 
Zyonin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,440
Your File tree should like this;

Interface
- AddOns
-- AddOn1
--- AddOn1 File (example: AddOn1.toc)
--- AddOn1 File (example: AddOn2.lua)
-- AddOn2
--- AddOn2 File (example: AddOn2.toc)
--- AddOn2 File (example: AddOn2.lua)

So in the case of Bongos

Interface
- AddOns
-- Bongons
--- Bongos.toc
--- main.lua
--- other Bongos file
--- other Bongos file
-- Bongos_Options
--- BongosOptions.toc
--- menu.lua
--- other BongosOptions file
--- other BongosOpionss file
etc.
  Reply With Quote
11-08-06, 01:02 PM   #16
Gristadar
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
 
Gristadar's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 57
Originally Posted by huntingorc
My path is C:\Program Files\World of Warcraft\Interface\AddOns\My AddOns and the Addons button isnt showing. And what is the /SomeFiles part?
your path should be c:\program files\world of warcraft\interface\addons

not \myaddons
  Reply With Quote
11-09-06, 02:09 AM   #17
huntingorc
A Murloc Raider
 
huntingorc's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
Talking

Ok then I fiddled around with the folders like you said and *insert drumroll* I now have the addons button! thanks for all the help guys.
__________________
A happy druid comes from mulgore...
  Reply With Quote
11-23-06, 02:48 PM   #18
druz
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Angry Omg!

I have downloaded an auctioneer pack from auctioneeraddon.com and I have followed the directions and everything but I still don't have an "addons" button at my Character Selection Screen. This is how I get to the folder if you want to know:

C drive
-program files
--world of warcraft
---interface
----addons
-----auctioneer
-----beancounter
-----enchantrix
-----enhtooltip
-----informant
-----stubby

PLEASE!!!!! Tell me if I did something wrong at all. It is reeeeeaaaaaaallllllllly frustrating

Thank You
  Reply With Quote
11-23-06, 04:20 PM   #19
leethal
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 54
Take a look at the addon FAQ:

http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/f..._howto_install
  Reply With Quote
01-04-10, 12:39 PM   #20
bboyddey
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Exclamation

Can someone PLEASE help me,

my "AddOn button" won't show up! i already resetted WoW,
but i don't know what you guys mean with wow/interface/addons/"SOME ADDON"/"SOME FILES".
what do you mean with that
please post me back,its freaking frustrating
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Help/Support » No Addons Button

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off