05-08-09, 10:57 AM   #1
Yewbacca
A Murloc Raider
Smile I'm an addon author

Hi,

I'm an addon author, how do I add notes to the Carbonite world map? The "Astrolabe" library lets you place notes (frames, actually) on both the minimap and world map. With Carbonite, it's unable to place any notes since Carbonite has that zooming texture instead of a "real" zone-by-zone zoomlevel. So how do I attach notes to Carbonite's map? Is there an API/function for this? I'd like to patch Astrolabe to support Carbonite.

05-08-09, 03:17 PM   #2
Jezzabel
A Cyclonian

Actually I use SilverDragon that use the HandyNotes.

On what is called Carbonite Minimap the little icons dont show,

but on what is called the Carbonite Map, the icon appears and zoom with the map.

So I guess it should be possible to do something more interesting and get it on the minimap too ...

05-09-09, 11:11 AM   #3
stormkeep
Drunken Dorf

Premium Member
Carbonite has built in map "note" support like what Handynotes does already, which is the adding of a note that shows an icon on the map with the note text when you mouse-hover. I'm not sure what you mean by them not showing on the minimap though...with my setup carbonite's map is the minimap as well as the big map, so then notes shows up both places. I'm not even familiar with how to make a carbonite minimap that is indepent of the main map.

You can add notes to the carbonite world map by selecting "add note" from the right click menu.
You can then add additional lines of detail to the notes, if you want, from the "Favorites" window (the notes show up there as well as on the world map).

Last edited by stormkeep : 05-09-09 at 11:19 AM.

05-10-09, 04:16 AM   #4
Yewbacca
A Murloc Raider
Cool

Originally Posted by stormkeep View Post