Thread Tools Display Modes
07-13-07, 11:42 AM   #1
Dreadlorde
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Dreadlorde's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,302
CPU Profiling?

What exactly is CPU profiling? I'm using performancefu for my memory usage and latency, and it has CPU profiling, but I don't know what it does

Thanks for any help.
__________________

Funtoo - Plan 9 - Windows 7
  Reply With Quote
07-13-07, 07:38 PM   #2
MidgetMage55
Grinch!
 
MidgetMage55's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,498
So far as i know it tracks mods (if any) that take up cpu cycles. An example would be KTM.
__________________

I think Hong Kong Phooey was a ninja AND a pirate. That was just too much awesome. - Yhor
  Reply With Quote
07-13-07, 08:19 PM   #3
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,860
I believe it shows how much of your CPU a mod is using up, as opposed to just how much kb/MB it's using. It has been noted before that when enabling CPU profiling, a little more usage is tacked on as the calculations are figured.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
07-15-08, 10:13 AM   #4
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
On the subject of CPU profiling, I am looking for a tool or tutorial on how to do in-depth profiling of my mod. I need to figure out where the bottlenecks are that are dropping the frame rate and I'm not at all clear on how to do that at the method level.

Can anyone point me to a tool or resource I can use to measure where in my mod the most CPU load is occurring? Or is this one of those things you just have to hammer out via brute force?
  Reply With Quote
07-15-08, 10:25 AM   #5
Slakah
A Molten Giant
 
Slakah's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 863
There is one method which I know of which is to stand facing a wall storing GetTime() before the code you want to be executed then after you minus that from the current GetTime().

Or if it's purely lua you can use a lua interpreter and use os.clock() comparing results before and after the code you which to track.
  Reply With Quote
07-15-08, 10:34 AM   #6
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Originally Posted by Slakah View Post
There is one method which I know of which is to stand facing a wall storing GetTime() before the code you want to be executed then after you minus that from the current GetTime().

Or if it's purely lua you can use a lua interpreter and use os.clock() comparing results before and after the code you which to track.

Yeah... I was kind of afraid of that.

The issue I'm facing is that when I join a raid, something in my mod is hammering the frame rate, but I'm not sure where it is occurring in the code and with the size of the mod, narrowing down where the performance hit is taking place is non-trivial. I was kind of hoping to find a way of profiling CPU usage by method (function) call.

I suppose worst case would be to build a table of my own and accumulate time or call counts.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Help/Support » CPU Profiling?


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off