12-20-18, 10:02 AM   #1
Zuldaris
A Murloc Raider
Day & Night cycle & textures help

Good day to all!

I am currently working on a grad school thesis that deals with WoW textures, and the day and night cycle of the game. I'm new to both, but not new to shading and texturing, and rendering in general. So, does anyone here know of some great resources on game texturing or game day/night cycles (preferably WoW-focused)?

I'm doing my necessary research online, but always like to ask actual people and not rely solely on static webpage text.
12-20-18, 02:38 PM   #2
myrroddin
A Pyroguard Emberseer

AddOn Author - Click to view addons
As far as I know, World of Warcraft doesn't have day and night textures, although it does have lighting effects. The problem is that we AddOn authors cannot modify the in game textures. We can only modify the user interface, including textures for the UI.

If you wanted to check the day or night cycle and apply an appropriate texture to a frame, you can do that, but since we can't access the light source code, you'd have to do this creatively.

Have two textures, one for day and one for night. We can tell what time it is in game, but we can't apply light sources and their shadows to a frame; at least not with WoW's own light sources.

What you could do is create some fancy math converting a 12 hour day into alpha, then do the same for a 12 hour night. Then apply each to their respective frames based on the actual game clock.

You could take it one step further, with even more complex math. Have only one texture, increase its alpha for 6 hours, keep it static for 12 hours, decrease alpha for 6 hours. Cycle it that way.
12-20-18, 06:47 PM   #3
Zuldaris
A Murloc Raider
Thanks for the reply myroddin.