Thread Tools Display Modes
12-22-09, 11:11 AM   #1
xromania™
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
xromania™'s Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 284
addon to find a word in chat

Is a addon who can find a word in chat window? or who can announce you with a sound if a word appear?
  Reply With Quote
12-22-09, 12:17 PM   #2
nightcracker
A Molten Giant
 
nightcracker's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 716
Originally Posted by xromania™ View Post
Is a addon who can find a word in chat window? or who can announce you with a sound if a word appear?
No idea, but this script will announce when a word from the words list appears:
lua Code:
  1. local words = {
  2.     "ANNOUNCE",
  3.     "URPRO",
  4. }
  5.  
  6. local hooks, blacklist = {}, {}
  7. local function addmessage(frame, text, red, green, blue, id)
  8.     text = tostring(text) or ""
  9.     for i=1,#words do
  10.         if string.find(text, words[i]) then
  11.             if blacklist[i] then --prevent looping
  12.                 blacklist[i] = false
  13.             else
  14.                 frame:AddMessage("Word alert: ["..word.."]", 1, 0 , 0)
  15.                 blacklist[i] = true
  16.             end
  17.         end
  18.     end
  19.     return hooks[frame](frame, text, red, green, blue, id)
  20. end
  21.  
  22. for i=1,7 do
  23.     local f = _G["ChatFrame"..i]
  24.     hooks[f] = f.AddMessage
  25.     f.AddMessage = addmessage
  26. end
__________________
Three things are certain,
Death, taxes and site not found,
You, victim of one.
  Reply With Quote
12-22-09, 12:43 PM   #3
Diagnostics
Medic!
 
Diagnostics's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 71
Can't you tell Parrot or MSBT to flash SCT message when a certain word pops in chat? I know it is set up to flash the sentence whenever my toons name is included.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
12-22-09, 05:19 PM   #4
xromania™
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
xromania™'s Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 284
ok thanks i dont understand so much but i think many ill love a addon with these options please
  Reply With Quote
12-22-09, 06:49 PM   #5
Taroven
A Cyclonian
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 49
Originally Posted by xromania™ View Post
ok thanks i dont understand so much but i think many ill love a addon with these options please
Check out Chatter on Curse.
__________________
Former author of EventHorizon Continued and Other Releases.
  Reply With Quote
12-22-09, 10:58 PM   #6
Sythalin
Curse staff
 
Sythalin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 680
Code from DuctTape (slightly modified for easier reading):

Code:
local function filter(_,_,msg)
	msg = string.lower(msg); -- lower case the incoming text for filtering

	for i= 1, #(keywords) do
		if strfind(msg, keywords[i]) then  -- search msg for current keyword in list
			debug(keywords[i].. " found in message.")  -- print verification (for debugging)
			return false  -- display message
		else
			return true -- ignore message, does not show up
		end
	end
end

ChatFrame_AddMessageEventFilter("CHAT_MSG_BATTLEGROUND", filter);
If it's a simple one word lookup, you can boil it down to
Code:
local function filter(_,_,msg)
	msg = string.lower(msg); -- lower case the incoming text for filtering

	if strfind(msg, "word") then  -- search msg for word
		-- word found, do something
	else
		-- word not present, do something else
	end
	return false -- IMPORTANT, WILL NOT SHOW UP IN CHAT WITHOUT THIS!!!
end

ChatFrame_AddMessageEventFilter("event", filter);

Last edited by Sythalin : 12-22-09 at 11:01 PM. Reason: cleanup improper coding
  Reply With Quote
12-23-09, 03:23 AM   #7
xromania™
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
xromania™'s Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 284
Thx but i just lost time trying chatter, this cap at all dont have a option to disable the hour before each chat message i think, but i dont know why this stupid option is enabled, who need to see the miliseconds

anyway what langue u speak here guys.. so nobody was able to make a important addon like that i gues. A example- if we want a ICC group to have a sound if ICC appear in chat from so many massages

Last edited by xromania™ : 12-23-09 at 03:29 AM.
  Reply With Quote
12-23-09, 09:10 AM   #8
Sythalin
Curse staff
 
Sythalin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 680
There is an option in Chatter, you just to find it (don't remember offhand) to turn off the milliseconds. What I'm guessing is that you guys have your own custom channel called "ICC". Assuming this is the case:

Code:
local function chkChan(self,event,...)
    local _,_,_,_,_,_,_,_,chan = ...
    if event == "CHAT_MSG_CHANNEL" and chan == "ICC" then
        PlaySound("<sound file dir>")
    end
end

local f: CreateFrame("FRAME")
f:RegisterEvent("CHAT_MSG_CHANNEL")
f:SetScript("OnEvent", chkChan)
f:Show()
Every time a chat message you receive comes from the "ICC" channel will play whatever sound you'd decide to put in there.

Hope that helps.

Last edited by Sythalin : 12-23-09 at 09:15 AM. Reason: code fix
  Reply With Quote
12-23-09, 09:38 AM   #9
Diagnostics
Medic!
 
Diagnostics's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 71
Its called Timestamps. And it should be clearly defined in the chatter settings.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
12-24-09, 09:43 AM   #10
xromania™
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
xromania™'s Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 284
You said "What I'm guessing is that you guys have your own custom channel called "ICC". " - No, i was not speaking about that, probably my english wasnt so clear etc.

I just want, and others too i gues, to hear a sound when a specific word or group of words appear in chat. Is that posible, is a script etc for that? thx
  Reply With Quote
12-24-09, 01:50 PM   #11
Faraque
A Theradrim Guardian
 
Faraque's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 68
xromania, again, chatter has this functionality.

http://wow.curse.com/downloads/wow-a...s/chatter.aspx

- Highlights, both for custom keywords and when things are said in specific channels

Tell it to hilight the word "ICC" and it'll popup when someone says "ICC" and show you the entire sentance.

edit: Also, I doubt he has a special channel called ICC. He just wants it to notify him if anyone in trade/lfg/general/guild says "ICC".
__________________
"imo Fara raged and gave Joker his scars" - Blueninja of Shadowmoon
  Reply With Quote
12-24-09, 05:08 PM   #12
xromania™
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
xromania™'s Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 284
oh ok thanks, i didnt saw this option, now ok i saw it and is verry cool and i replaced phanx chat with chatter

A custom sound for this addon should be nice (so we can use our own vaw), or more sounds to chose and higher volume..

Last edited by xromania™ : 12-24-09 at 06:57 PM.
  Reply With Quote
12-26-09, 05:27 AM   #13
xromania™
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
xromania™'s Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 284
back to this post, i just noticed i cant resize the chat box more than few centimeters, this is a big incovenient for me, to bad, because chatter had many good options

but is a problem if im using chatter and phanx chat in same time? because i need only the full resize. Or is a simple addon just fore resizeing the chat box?

Last edited by xromania™ : 12-26-09 at 07:11 AM.
  Reply With Quote
12-26-09, 10:00 AM   #14
Sythalin
Curse staff
 
Sythalin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 680
Originally Posted by xromania™ View Post
back to this post, i just noticed i cant resize the chat box more than few centimeters, this is a big incovenient for me, to bad, because chatter had many good options

but is a problem if im using chatter and phanx chat in same time? because i need only the full resize. Or is a simple addon just fore resizeing the chat box?
Yes. Multiple addons who alter the sames thing (ESPECIALLY chat mods) have a high tendency to clash with one another. I recommend choosing one or the other to avoid these conflicts.
  Reply With Quote
12-26-09, 10:29 AM   #15
nickyjean
Premium Member
Premium Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 284
so assuming you want something with a little less features you can also try Highlighter but I do use chatter myself. I just understand how people (like me) can be very picky about the UI's they have. So if chatter does have too much you can try this one.
  Reply With Quote
12-26-09, 04:11 PM   #16
xromania™
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
xromania™'s Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 284
yes i knew that addons doing same thing are not recomended, that why im still looking for other simple addon to use with chatter for resize the chat box more than few cm.

Highlighter is a old addon i see and seems to not have a sound notification or to resize as much as u want the box
__________________
*sry my english
http://eu.battle.net/wow/en/characte...romania/simple
  Reply With Quote
12-29-09, 06:00 AM   #17
xromania™
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
xromania™'s Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 284
i tried many, no one have both options - chatter, phanx chat, FuBar_ChatAlertsFu094b, ChatMOD_135 (this isnt updated and i cant acces the options via map button), Highlighter, Prat

i know isnt good to use 2 addons for chat in same time. But if i disable all modules in Prat except "frames" (yes in prat u can disable all modules for low memory) can use Prat and Chatter? Because i want from Pratt the option to maximize the chat windows how much i want and from Chatter a sound notification when a specific word appear in chat
__________________
*sry my english
http://eu.battle.net/wow/en/characte...romania/simple

Last edited by xromania™ : 12-29-09 at 06:47 AM.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Search/Requests » addon to find a word in chat


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off