Quantcast lua function - disable show lua errors - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
02-16-15, 09:02 PM   #1
Oniya
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 57
Question lua function - disable show lua errors

Is there any macros or function to disable Lua errors showing?
Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
02-16-15, 11:53 PM   #2
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
Yes, but you don't need an addon or macro to do that, just turn off the option:

Interface Options > Game tab at the top of the left column > Help > Display Lua Errors

However, just hiding the errors is not a good solution. If you're getting errors, it means something is wrong, and if you're getting a lot of errors, especially while you're in combat, it's probably hurting your FPS.

If the errors are about addons you wrote, just fix them! If they are about addons you use, update those addons, report the errors to the addon authors so they can fix them, and/or replace those addons with ones that aren't outdated and broken.

Another option would be to use a custom error display addon like Bugger or BugSack (or Swatter, if you use Auctioneer) -- that way you'll still be able to see which addons are broken, but the errors won't pop up in the middle of your screen at inconvenient times.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, oUF_Phanx, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
  Reply With Quote
02-17-15, 02:46 PM   #3
Oniya
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 57
i need to have access via lua for it - that what i asked, i know it exists in interface
or is it possible to get state if this checkbox really checked or not?
  Reply With Quote
02-17-15, 05:06 PM   #4
Banknorris
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
Banknorris's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 153
I hope you are not an addon author trying to hide your addon problems...
Untested but probably
SetCVar("scriptErrors",0)
  Reply With Quote
02-17-15, 08:03 PM   #5
SDPhantom
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
SDPhantom's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,866
I was looking for this and had found the answer on my own, but my desire to find it was as part of my personal development addon to let it detect and warn me if I had errors turned off. I get a lot of CombatLog error spam from the default UI while running raids and end up having to turn it off to do anything. The problem is I forget to turn it back on when trying to debug my own addons.
__________________
ESOUI AddOns | WoWInterface AddOns
"All I want is a pretty girl, a decent meal, and the right to shoot lightning at fools."
-Anders (Dragon Age: Origins - Awakening)
  Reply With Quote
02-18-15, 01:09 AM   #6
10leej
A Molten Giant
 
10leej's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 579
Originally Posted by Banknorris View Post
I hope you are not an addon author trying to hide your addon problems...
Untested but probably
SetCVar("scriptErrors",0)
Well april is coming too soon...................... Executus.
__________________
Tweets Facebook YouTube Website
  Reply With Quote
02-18-15, 02:36 AM   #7
Oniya
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 57
Originally Posted by Banknorris View Post
I hope you are not an addon author trying to hide your addon problems...
Untested but probably
SetCVar("scriptErrors",0)
Thanks a lot!
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » General Authoring Discussion » lua function - disable show lua errors

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off