Quantcast WinMPQ overflow error - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
04-19-05, 04:01 PM   #1
Inokis
EQInterface Staff
 
Inokis's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 156
WinMPQ overflow error

Since today's patch I'm unable to extract any files from the Patch.mpq using WinMPQ, is anyone else having this issue?
__________________
If not yourself, who can you count on...
  Reply With Quote
04-19-05, 04:04 PM   #2
Cairenn
Credendo Vides
 
Cairenn's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,108
Ugh!

I've been so busy with other stuff (ala this site, etc) that I haven't even downloaded the patch yet!
__________________
“Do what you feel in your heart to be right — for you’ll be criticized anyway.” ~ Eleanor Roosevelt
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Co-Founder & Admin: MMOUI
FaceBook Profile, Page, Group
Avatar Image by RaffaeleMarinetti
  Reply With Quote
04-19-05, 06:54 PM   #3
drgntmr
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1
Yeah I've been getting the same error, anyone with some suggestions?
  Reply With Quote
04-19-05, 07:33 PM   #4
Inokis
EQInterface Staff
 
Inokis's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 156
I've found a work around... (do this while the game is shut down)

Get the blizzard unpacker firstly:
http://www.blizzard.com/support/wow/?id=aww01669p

Next:
Rename your world of warcraft/interface/framexml folder (i used framexml-mod).
Go into your World of Warcraft/Data Folder
Rename interface.mpq to something else (I used interface1.mpq)
Rename patch.mpq to interface.mpq

Then:
Run the blizzard unpacker.
This will unzip all of the patch files to the default Framexml folder since it thinks its unpacking the interface.mpq.

Next:
Move the files you need to modify from the framexml folder to your framexml-mod folder.

Finally:
Delete the new framexml folder.
Rename the framexml-mod folder back to framexml.
Rename your interface.mpq back to patch.mpq.
Rename your interface1.mpq back to interface.mpq
__________________
If not yourself, who can you count on...

Last edited by Inokis : 04-19-05 at 07:39 PM.
  Reply With Quote
04-19-05, 07:41 PM   #5
Cairenn
Credendo Vides
 
Cairenn's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,108
Cross referencing the thread on the Blizz forum:

http://forums.worldofwarcraft.com/th...p=1#post118567

(/bonks Inokis repeatedly over the head with a trout!)

Last edited by Cairenn : 04-19-05 at 07:46 PM.
  Reply With Quote
04-19-05, 11:10 PM   #6
Tergiver
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1
I had the same problem and so I wrote my own MPQ Archiver. It's called MPQ Archiver (ok, so I'm not very clever).

It's pretty crude and probably full of bugs, but seems to do the job. It'll only extract files right now.

You can find it at http://www.tersoft.com/WoW%20Utilities.html
  Reply With Quote
04-19-05, 11:15 PM   #7
Cairenn
Credendo Vides
 
Cairenn's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,108
I'm sure many folks will find that very handy, Tergiver, thank you for also coming over here to link it on this thread as well. (I had noticed that you just posted it over on the Blizz forums, was about to come point it out to folks myself)
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » General Authoring Discussion » WinMPQ overflow error

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off