Quantcast
hacked - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
01-21-08, 05:17 PM   #1
tharyn1
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
hacked

friday i was hacked, i take reasonable steps to protect myself and the information on my comp. after i logged to find my password changed i logged into blizzards password retrieval page and recovered my info. i the emptied the wtf folder and removed all adds. i the used ccleaner , superantispware and spybot s&d, i have since removed norton and replace it with comodo(firewall). and even switch to firefox. what else do i need to do to ensure this doesn't happen again or that i'm even clean? the only adds i have now are from here. and my scans found , malware-spywarenuker and trojan-hipoint.installer.
  Reply With Quote
01-21-08, 05:41 PM   #2
Shirik
Blasphemer!
Premium Member
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 818
What antivirus software are you using? The fact that you removed Norton and have not mentioned any other is disturbing to me.
__________________
たしかにひとつのじだいがおわるのお
ぼくはこのめでみたよ
だけどつぎがじぶんおばんだってことわ
しりたくなかったんだ
It's my turn next.

Shakespeare liked regexes too!
/(bb|[^b]{2})/
  Reply With Quote
01-21-08, 08:39 PM   #3
tharyn1
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
spybot search and destroy, superantispyware and i just installed avira. and i think the last is what i am going to stick with
  Reply With Quote
01-21-08, 09:46 PM   #4
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,734
Just to be certain (in case it was this particular Trojan) you can follow these steps:
http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=14502
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
01-21-08, 09:47 PM   #5
Shirik
Blasphemer!
Premium Member
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 818
Originally Posted by tharyn1
spybot search and destroy, superantispyware and i just installed avira. and i think the last is what i am going to stick with
Neither spybot nor superantispyware (the latter of which I have never heard of before) are antivirus programs. I recommend going to freeav.com and picking up AntiVir.
__________________
たしかにひとつのじだいがおわるのお
ぼくはこのめでみたよ
だけどつぎがじぶんおばんだってことわ
しりたくなかったんだ
It's my turn next.

Shakespeare liked regexes too!
/(bb|[^b]{2})/
  Reply With Quote
01-21-08, 10:01 PM   #6
Cairenn
Credendo Vides
 
Cairenn's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,111
or AVG (there is a free one for personal use).
__________________
“Do what you feel in your heart to be right — for you’ll be criticized anyway.” ~ Eleanor Roosevelt
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Co-Founder & Admin: MMOUI
FaceBook Profile, Page, Group
Avatar Image by RaffaeleMarinetti
  Reply With Quote
01-22-08, 08:35 AM   #7
Quiveringfinger
A Kobold Labourer
 
Quiveringfinger's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1
AVG is a great program for freeware

  Reply With Quote
01-22-08, 06:31 PM   #8
tharyn1
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
i went with avira antivir, i had several trojans. i had for years depended on norton and spybot s&d and ccleaner weekly. i really thought i was safe. i like avira so much i'm going to get the upgrade. thanks for the tip
  Reply With Quote
01-22-08, 06:53 PM   #9
Kardinalsin
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
Kardinalsin's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 23
i was hacked myself a few months back person that did it didht touch my account just changed the passy and removed my toons from my guild .


but yes run away from norton as fast as you can

i stick to NOD32 myself
  Reply With Quote
01-22-08, 07:29 PM   #10
Gemini_II
A Molten Giant
 
Gemini_II's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 762
Just wanted to point out a major distinction between viruses (and Antivirus software) and spyware (and antispyware software).

These two things are equally aggravating but very different problems. I'll leave you to google or wikipedia the difference but alot of programs will do one or the other, not both. Also there are many programs that "claim" to remove such garbage but actually put some in. So-called antispyware programs are notorious for this tactic. Always use something that is recognized and popular. YOU NEED TO HAVE BOTH TO BE RELATIVELY SAFE!

Suggestions for Antivirus: Symantec Corporate, Avast! (free), AVG (free), AntiVir (free)

Suggestions for AntiSpyware: Microsoft Defender, Spybot S&D, Ad-Aware.
__________________
Retired prior to 3.2, before all challenge was removed.

  Reply With Quote
01-22-08, 08:46 PM   #11
Katharad
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
I ditched Nortons along time ago and picked up Kaspersky (KAV has issues with Comodo though). If you don't want to pay for a subscription I would go with AVG or Bitdefender's free version. Both SuperAntiSpyware and Spybot S&D are good apps, I have used them both for years along with AVG antispyware (Ewido) as on demand scanners.


Below is a link of antispyware/av apps that you want to STAY AWAY from. Each one has notes on why it is considered bad. http://www.spywarewarrior.com/rogue_...e.htm#products

Last edited by Shirik : 01-30-08 at 01:32 AM. Reason: Fixing broken link
  Reply With Quote
01-23-08, 12:56 AM   #12
naeem151287
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
naeem151287's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 144
i use Comodo Firewall + AVG Free Edition + SpySweeper

Spysweeper is the best anti-spyware in my opinion and as AVG doesnt take care of spywares... its needed

not had a prob so far with this combo...used NOD32 earlier and it was gr8 as well and ofc kaspersky
__________________
My Blog - Feel free to leave comments.
  Reply With Quote
01-26-08, 05:21 PM   #13
Kardinalsin
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
Kardinalsin's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 23
SpyBot S&D > all

imho
  Reply With Quote
01-27-08, 02:51 AM   #14
attackfrog
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
I've been very happy with Trend Micro PC-cilling Internet Security- it's Antivirus, Anti-Spyware, a firewall, and some other cool stuff too. Several times it's caught things as I was downloading them, without me telling it to scan the file or anything. It also updates itself at least daily. It's not free, but it's worth it for me
  Reply With Quote
01-27-08, 05:08 AM   #15
Maxian
A Cliff Giant
 
Maxian's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 73
Originally Posted by attackfrog View Post
I've been very happy with Trend Micro PC-cilling Internet Security- it's Antivirus, Anti-Spyware, a firewall, and some other cool stuff too. Several times it's caught things as I was downloading them, without me telling it to scan the file or anything. It also updates itself at least daily. It's not free, but it's worth it for me
Im using it too and for what i've see so far it's the best non enterprise security suite. Ofc you need to pay for it.
__________________


MyUI
My WoWInterface Portal
  Reply With Quote
01-27-08, 05:09 AM   #16
txxnnok
Order of the Horde
 
txxnnok's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
You can also use Avast Antivirus. It carries some real time protection with it, including scanning e-mail. It has caught a couple of virus's for me and removed them. Currently I have changed to Bitdefender (Internet Suite). It has a game mode and only cost like $50 for a year for 3 computers. No virus's since I have gotten it and I have a 14 year old daughter that loves to go to dangerous sites.
Also Zonealarm offers an good suite for about the same price and is very highly ranked. Pus I believe it has a game mode also.
  Reply With Quote
01-29-08, 11:42 PM   #17
Tsurani
A Black Drake
 
Tsurani's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 81
OR you can click the Sticky at the top of this forum
__________________
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » General Discussion » Chit-Chat » hacked

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off