Thread Tools Display Modes
05-31-10, 05:12 PM   #1
corveroth
A Fallenroot Satyr
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 29
Addon not resetting?

Well, I'm confused.

I've been using Ara_Broker_Money for quite a while now, but recently one of my characters fell out of sync. Not sure how. No problem, I figured, just delete the savedvars and rebuild everything. Except, that doesn't work. If I delete the settings file, or zero out the entries, everything is properly cleared out for the next session... but then everything I deleted just comes back! And yes, I delete the .bak file as well.

What the hell is going on?
  Reply With Quote
05-31-10, 05:16 PM   #2
Wella
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
 
Wella's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 322
What's saved in those files are only the configurations for the addon, not whatever data the addon itself may have saved. Have you tried deleting the addon itself and re-installing it?
__________________
Addons I use, not that any of you care
* Bejeweled - For boring 5 minute flights to Tanaris
* Genie - Blizzard really should have implemented bag sorting by now
* ncHoverBind - I'm a Lock, what can you expect?
* oGlow - Agan, a missing feature
* Recount - Derp
* ShooShards - Another missing feature


"Your idea is good. So i will try it."
- popmissa
  Reply With Quote
05-31-10, 05:26 PM   #3
corveroth
A Fallenroot Satyr
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 29
I don't mean to be an ass, but on that count, you are quite simply wrong. The Saved Variable files in the WTF folder contain both "configuration" and "data" - those files are the only files to which an addon can write. The contents of the Interface folder contain only the functional code and the defaults and cannot be modified by the addon.

By way of demonstration, these are the contents of WTF\Account\<USER>\SavedVariables\Ara_Broker_Money.lua. In addition to the "configuration" setting (whether or not to use the compact display), it contains quite a bit of "data" (the amount of money each character has, and the totals for each of the last seven days):

lua Code:
  1. AraBrokerMoneyDB = {
  2.     ["Skullcrusher"] = {
  3.         ["days"] = {
  4.             [14750] = 83384820,
  5.             [14751] = 87458003,
  6.             [14752] = 90751121,
  7.             [14753] = 115161726,
  8.             [14754] = 117113504,
  9.             [14755] = 120109780,
  10.             [14756] = 139316668,
  11.         },
  12.         ["chars"] = {
  13.             ["Adumbrate"] = 678797,
  14.             ["Çorvette"] = 40151684,
  15.             ["Irdair"] = 10410502,
  16.             ["Corv"] = 32383718,
  17.             ["Corveroth"] = 41496731,
  18.             ["Víllage"] = 6315971,
  19.             ["Untoterezept"] = 8561091,
  20.         },
  21.     },
  22.     ["compact"] = true,
  23. }
  Reply With Quote
05-31-10, 05:33 PM   #4
Wella
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
 
Wella's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 322
Okay, I apologize, I was merely making an educated guess as to where the problem might be coming from.

Maybe, then, the addon might handle its data in a different way to how most addons do so?
__________________
Addons I use, not that any of you care
* Bejeweled - For boring 5 minute flights to Tanaris
* Genie - Blizzard really should have implemented bag sorting by now
* ncHoverBind - I'm a Lock, what can you expect?
* oGlow - Agan, a missing feature
* Recount - Derp
* ShooShards - Another missing feature


"Your idea is good. So i will try it."
- popmissa
  Reply With Quote
05-31-10, 05:36 PM   #5
corveroth
A Fallenroot Satyr
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 29
Originally Posted by Wella View Post
Okay, I apologize, I was merely making an educated guess as to where the problem might be coming from.

Maybe, then, the addon might handle its data in a different way to how most addons do so?
Well, it can only write to that ONE file, Ara_Broker_Money.lua. The only things I can think of are that another addon is saving the data (seems highly unlikely as it would need the name of the table to save, and I checked the savedvars for my LDB display as the most likely culprit anyways), or that the settings are being stored server-side. I checked my macros, guild notes, and guild info and don't see anything stored there, and I don't know of any other way for an addon to save data on the server.

Oh, and I'm running on Windows XP, so there's no permissions crap to deal with. Also, I've checked that I'm not deleting things in the wrong WoW install. I can watch Notepad++ complain about the files changing and vanishing.

It's almost like the server is storing Ara_Broker_Money's data, but on a per character basis. At least two of my characters show the wrong data for each other (but of course, correct data for themselves), yet the TOC only defines that single table for all characters - there are no per-character savedvars.

Last edited by corveroth : 05-31-10 at 06:04 PM.
  Reply With Quote
05-31-10, 06:14 PM   #6
corveroth
A Fallenroot Satyr
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 29
Augh. Damn it all. Figured it out. I'd duplicated the addon folder to create my own derivative at a later data, and never changed the TOC in the dupe - so my dupe was writing over any changes ABM was making.
  Reply With Quote
05-31-10, 06:18 PM   #7
Wella
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
 
Wella's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 322
Annoying problems always have an annoying solution. I'm glad you have sorted everything out and that I learnt something in the process!
__________________
Addons I use, not that any of you care
* Bejeweled - For boring 5 minute flights to Tanaris
* Genie - Blizzard really should have implemented bag sorting by now
* ncHoverBind - I'm a Lock, what can you expect?
* oGlow - Agan, a missing feature
* Recount - Derp
* ShooShards - Another missing feature


"Your idea is good. So i will try it."
- popmissa
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Help/Support » Addon not resetting?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off