Thread Tools Display Modes
08-25-08, 07:18 AM   #1
tintingurl
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
tintingurl's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 295
errors not sure what doing them

hello i have two errors in bugsack im not too sure what is doing them
well here they are if anyone can help thanks a bunch for reading. oh here's thew addons i have:
buggrabber
arkinventory
bugsack
datatext
dominos
mapster
doublewide
mikscollingbattletext
pitbull
pminimap
quetip




[2008/08/25 09:13:53-19-x10]: Interface\FrameXML\ChatFrame.lua:2225: bad argument #1 to 'strsub' (string expected, got nil):
Interface\FrameXML\ChatFrame.lua:2225: in function <Interface\FrameXML\ChatFrame.lua:2224>:
(tail call): ?:
(tail call): ?:
Interface\FrameXML\ChatFrame.lua:2077: in function <Interface\FrameXML\ChatFrame.lua:2070>:
(tail call): ?:
(tail call): ?:
<string>:"*:OnEvent":1: in function <[string "*:OnEvent"]:1>

---
[2008/08/25 09:14:05-19-x1]: Interface\FrameXML\ChatFrame.lua:2225: bad argument #1 to 'strsub' (string expected, got nil):
Interface\FrameXML\ChatFrame.lua:2225: in function <Interface\FrameXML\ChatFrame.lua:2224>:
(tail call): ?:
(tail call): ?:
Interface\FrameXML\ChatFrame.lua:2077: in function <Interface\FrameXML\ChatFrame.lua:2070>:
(tail call): ?:
(tail call): ?:
<string>:"*:OnEvent":1: in function <[string "*:OnEvent"]:1>
Blizzard_CombatLog\Blizzard_CombatLog.lua:3334: in function <...ace\AddOns\Blizzard_CombatLog\Blizzard_CombatLog.lua:3313>

---



EDIT:it happens only with bugsack and buggrabber enabled so im guessing its that cuasing it disabled now lol
__________________

Last edited by tintingurl : 08-25-08 at 07:25 AM.
  Reply With Quote
08-25-08, 08:24 AM   #2
kerrang
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 109
I recognise those errors *coughs*

One of the addons you have loaded is trying to hook ChatMessageEventHandler and the parameters have changed in WOTLK so it's passing rubbish to the "real" Blizzard function - hence the error...

I did this in NowCarrying - my solution looks something like this...

Code:
if IS_WRATH == nil then IS_WRATH = (select(4, GetBuildInfo()) >= 30000) end
local ORIG_ChatFrame_MessageEventHandler = ChatFrame_MessageEventHandler;
function ChatFrame_MessageEventHandler(...)
  if IS_WRATH then
    _,event,arg1 = ...
  else
    event = ...
  end 
  [my code goes in here]
  ORIG_ChatFrame_MessageEventHandler(...);
end
p.s. to answer your question more directly - you're using non-WOTLK versions of addon(s)
  Reply With Quote
08-25-08, 09:58 AM   #3
Dridzt
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Dridzt's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,360
If it's happening with BugSack and BugGrabber alone enabled,
the problem is in the bundled Ace2 libraries.

You need to use an svn client to pull down WotLK compatible versions from this place:
http://svn.wowace.com/wowace/branches/Ace2/WotLK/

Then replace the ones installed with BugSack and you should be ok.
  Reply With Quote
08-25-08, 04:06 PM   #4
tintingurl
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
tintingurl's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 295
Originally Posted by Dridzt View Post
If it's happening with BugSack and BugGrabber alone enabled,
the problem is in the bundled Ace2 libraries.

You need to use an svn client to pull down WotLK compatible versions from this place:
http://svn.wowace.com/wowace/branches/Ace2/WotLK/

Then replace the ones installed with BugSack and you should be ok.

how do i do that with the svn? do i copy each of those codes and replace the codes in the files of ace? sorry im not too good on the coding stuff.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
08-25-08, 04:44 PM   #5
Akryn
A Firelord
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 479
http://tortoisesvn.net/
That client integrates into Windows, so you can just right click the ace2 folder in your LK interface\addons folder and say SVN Checkout.
[edit] and give it the URL above (http://svn.wowace.com/wowace/branches/Ace2/WotLK/).
  Reply With Quote
08-25-08, 05:11 PM   #6
Dridzt
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Dridzt's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,360
Alternatively you can get also get RapidSVN.

1. Visit the homepage: http://rapidsvn.tigris.org/

2. Press the "download latest release" and get the .exe file if you're on Windows.

3. Install it.

4. Visit the documentation page and read the checkout instructions:
http://www.rapidsvn.org/index.php/Do...a_Working_Copy

After following those steps you'll end up with an Ace2 folder with all the libraries somewhere on your hard drive
(you will choose where: Desktop is as good a place as any)

You can then copy the entire Ace2 folder you got to your AddOns folder (if you intend to run the libraries disembedded)
or go into the Libs subfolder of your Ace addon and look what libraries are there,
and overwrite with the WotLK compatible versions.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Search/Requests » errors not sure what doing them


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off