Thread Tools Display Modes
05-27-13, 03:11 PM   #1
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,710
Data gathering

I made an addon a few weeks back that allows you to see what item a tier token represents by "comparing" it like you would with any other item.

However, I don't have the time to collect all the data required for this, so I ask you now, the community, for your help.

I need you to the following:
  1. Download this addon attached and install it like any other
  2. Visit some or all of the vendors in the list below (open the vendor list until the addon tells you to stop the 5th time)
  3. Upload your savedvariables (use http://pastebin.com/ and link it)
You do not need to take every class, just take one or part of one if you want to.
Horde/alliance makes no difference, but the vendors might be placed differently.

Anyways, thanks if you want to help.


Quick links to all the relevant vendors (I'm not collecting TotC nor ICC, they use weird tokens)

Shattrath
Aldor
http://www.wowhead.com/npc=20616
http://www.wowhead.com/npc=21906

Scryer
http://www.wowhead.com/npc=20613
http://www.wowhead.com/npc=21905

Hyjal (Instance)
http://www.wowhead.com/npc=23381

Isle of Quel'Danas
http://www.wowhead.com/npc=25976

Dalaran
http://www.wowhead.com/npc=29523
http://www.wowhead.com/npc=28992
http://www.wowhead.com/npc=28995
http://www.wowhead.com/npc=28997

Stormwind
http://www.wowhead.com/npc=44245
http://www.wowhead.com/npc=44246
http://www.wowhead.com/npc=58154

Orgrimmar
http://www.wowhead.com/npc=46556
http://www.wowhead.com/npc=46555
http://www.wowhead.com/npc=58155

Townlong Steppes
http://www.wowhead.com/npc=70346
http://www.wowhead.com/npc=64606



Update1: New version, fixes error
Update2: Added spammy messages to let you know when you're done with each vendor
Update3: Fixed database nuking error
Attached Files
File Type: zip p3lim-exonumia_collect-fbe25b7fd7de.zip (1.9 KB, 224 views)

Last edited by p3lim : 05-31-13 at 05:45 AM.
  Reply With Quote
05-27-13, 03:11 PM   #2
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,710
Progress:

Complete.
Thanks to everyone for participating.

Last edited by p3lim : 06-01-13 at 06:54 AM.
  Reply With Quote
05-27-13, 03:54 PM   #3
Tonyleila
A Molten Giant
 
Tonyleila's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 758
I will help asap!
Whats wrong with ICC tokens? You need vender token to get normal mode tokens to upgrade to HC tokens thats all.
__________________
Author of: LeilaUI and Aurora: Missing Textures
__________________

Last edited by Tonyleila : 05-27-13 at 04:01 PM.
  Reply With Quote
05-27-13, 04:31 PM   #4
Be3f.
A Theradrim Guardian
 
Be3f.'s Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 65
Here you go.

http://pastebin.com/WUUXn0Um
__________________
-- Be3f.
  Reply With Quote
05-27-13, 06:18 PM   #5
Rainrider
A Firelord
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 454
You probably want to change line 71 to

Code:
if(itemLink and ExonumiaDB[playerClass][tokenID]) then
I'm getting data right now and will post later.
  Reply With Quote
05-27-13, 08:41 PM   #6
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
Exonumia is probably not a good name choice, as it's very similar to the name of my addon Exonumist, which isn't related to armor tokens at all.
__________________
Retired author of too many addons.
Message me if you're interested in taking over one of my addons.
Don’t message me about addon bugs or programming questions.
  Reply With Quote
05-27-13, 08:55 PM   #7
Rainrider
A Firelord
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 454
https://gist.github.com/Rainrider/5660242
  Reply With Quote
05-28-13, 04:12 AM   #8
ravagernl
Proceritate Corporis
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,176
Originally Posted by Phanx View Post
Exonumia is probably not a good name choice, as it's very similar to the name of my addon Exonumist, which isn't related to armor tokens at all.
Why not name the addon "TierTokenTip"?
Also, can you make a list in the first post/google spreadsheet on which data you still need?

Last edited by ravagernl : 05-28-13 at 04:18 AM.
  Reply With Quote
05-28-13, 05:05 AM   #9
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,710
Updated version attached, thanks for reporting

Last edited by p3lim : 05-28-13 at 07:48 AM.
  Reply With Quote
05-28-13, 05:07 AM   #10
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,710
Originally Posted by Tonyleila View Post
Whats wrong with ICC tokens? You need vender token to get normal mode tokens to upgrade to HC tokens thats all.
ICC tokens have one token for every item, and showing 6 tooltips at once is a bit extreme.
  Reply With Quote
05-28-13, 05:08 AM   #11
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,710
Originally Posted by Phanx View Post
Exonumia is probably not a good name choice, as it's very similar to the name of my addon Exonumist, which isn't related to armor tokens at all.
"Exonumia are numismatic items (such as tokens, medals, or scrip) other than coins and paper money."

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Exonumia
  Reply With Quote
05-28-13, 05:08 AM   #12
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,710
Originally Posted by ravagernl View Post
Also, can you make a list in the first post/google spreadsheet on which data you still need?
I'll just update the OP from time to time.
  Reply With Quote
05-28-13, 05:11 AM   #13
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
Originally Posted by p3lim View Post
"Exonumia are numismatic items (such as tokens, medals, or scrip) other than coins and paper money."

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Exonumia
Mine tracks currency tokens, which definitely qualify.

It's just a little-known word, and having two unrelated addons sharing it seems unnecessarily confusing.
__________________
Retired author of too many addons.
Message me if you're interested in taking over one of my addons.
Don’t message me about addon bugs or programming questions.
  Reply With Quote
05-28-13, 05:32 AM   #14
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,710
Originally Posted by Phanx View Post
Mine tracks currency tokens, which definitely qualify.

It's just a little-known word, and having two unrelated addons sharing it seems unnecessarily confusing.
Sure, the addon is far from final anyways so I could change the name if needed.
  Reply With Quote
05-28-13, 06:47 AM   #15
ravagernl
Proceritate Corporis
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,176
Originally Posted by p3lim View Post
I'll just update the OP from time to time.
I just posted hunter data here: http://pastebin.com/KZaKdZVn
Visited shattrath, isle of quel danas, orgrimmar, dalaran, hyjal and townlong steppes. So should be complete
  Reply With Quote
05-28-13, 06:54 AM   #16
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,710
Originally Posted by ravagernl View Post
I just posted hunter data here: http://pastebin.com/KZaKdZVn
Visited shattrath, isle of quel danas, orgrimmar, dalaran, hyjal and townlong steppes. So should be complete
Make sure you log out or /reload before copying the contents of the savedvariable file, the one you linked is almost empty.
  Reply With Quote
05-28-13, 07:17 AM   #17
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,710
New version in OP, this one will let you know when you're done with each vendor.

Last edited by p3lim : 05-28-13 at 07:48 AM.
  Reply With Quote
05-28-13, 07:30 AM   #18
ravagernl
Proceritate Corporis
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,176
Originally Posted by p3lim View Post
Make sure you log out or /reload before copying the contents of the savedvariable file, the one you linked is almost empty.
I did, I only visited the required vendors for hunters. I did a /reload after each place to make sure data was saved.

EDIT: I think there's a bug in your collector, every reload it somehow clears the database for the current class...
lua Code:
  1. if(#ExonumiaDB[playerClass] == 0) then
  2.             for _, tokenID in pairs(tokenIDs) do
  3.                 ExonumiaDB[playerClass][tokenID] = ''
  4.             end
  5.         end
should probably be:
lua Code:
  1. --if(#ExonumiaDB[playerClass] == 0) then
  2.             for _, tokenID in pairs(tokenIDs) do
  3.                 ExonumiaDB[playerClass][tokenID] = ExonumiaDB[playerClass][tokenID] or ''
  4.             end
  5.         --end
You can not get the table length of a hash table right?

Last edited by ravagernl : 05-28-13 at 07:42 AM.
  Reply With Quote
05-28-13, 07:35 AM   #19
Rainrider
A Firelord
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 454
Mine has hunter, warlock, druid (all vendors visited) and warrior (all but townlong steppes). I had to talk to all vendors twice, as nothing happened the first time the merchant window opened. That was with the first version posted in this thread. I'll collect for rogue and death knight later today (again without townlong steppes as the chars are not lvl 90 yet).
  Reply With Quote
05-28-13, 07:42 AM   #20
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,710
Originally Posted by Rainrider View Post
Mine has hunter, warlock, druid (all vendors visited) and warrior (all but townlong steppes). I had to talk to all vendors twice, as nothing happened the first time the merchant window opened. That was with the first version posted in this thread. I'll collect for rogue and death knight later today (again without townlong steppes as the chars are not lvl 90 yet).
Yeah I figured that caching might be an issue, that's why I added a notice in the last revision rather than handling caching
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » Alpha/Beta AddOns and Compilations » Data gathering


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off