Quantcast
Windows 7 - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
07-06-09, 11:08 AM   #1
DonCorneo
A Cyclonian
 
DonCorneo's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 47
Windows 7

Has anyone else tried running WoW or Minion on Windows 7?
I'm currently installing WoW (MS decided not to make 7 upgradable from XP so you have to do a clean install) and will be installing Minion as soon as WoW is up and running.
Looking to see if anyone else has done this and if they have encountered any trouble.
  Reply With Quote
07-06-09, 11:11 AM   #2
Kofetek
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
Kofetek's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 23
Work without any trouble. Just make sure you ahve the correct JSE installed (32 vs. 64 bit)
__________________

First, you try to relax, then you find yourself laughing manically and chewing on a red bull can.
  Reply With Quote
07-06-09, 11:14 AM   #3
Darxon
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 93
I had some errors cannot delete file..or something.
I moved WoW from C:/program files to C/games/World of Warcraft and it worked without any errors
__________________
  Reply With Quote
07-06-09, 12:11 PM   #4
OrcanWonder
A Cyclonian
 
OrcanWonder's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 40
Originally Posted by Darxon View Post
I had some errors cannot delete file..or something.
I moved WoW from C:/program files to C/games/World of Warcraft and it worked without any errors
Umm, would that have been the "Game Install" or the addons, that you moved?
  Reply With Quote
07-06-09, 02:26 PM   #5
Darxon
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 93
The game install
__________________
  Reply With Quote
07-06-09, 06:44 PM   #6
AsheruWolf
Premium Member
 
AsheruWolf's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 131
Did you redirect your Install location?

If not do this:

Click on Tools
Click on Options
Click on MMOUI - WOW tab
Check your directory and make sure its pointing at the current install location.
If not change it.
__________________
The end is never really the end, its the start of something new...
  Reply With Quote
07-14-09, 09:06 PM   #7
DonCorneo
A Cyclonian
 
DonCorneo's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 47
Well, I had WoW installed and it ran fine, copied my addons over and everything was ok.
But due to a problem with how 7 is installed dual booting with XP, I am reformating the drive 7 was on and trying it again.
When installing WoW, it recommended to install it <drive>:\users\public\games. I think that is the same for Vista? As I'm going along with 7, it appears that most of it is based off of Vista, so it appears that Minion will be able to transition to 7 with little trouble.
Though 7 is still in RC, if anything is nedded for testing Minion on it, please let me know.
I will post once I have 7 working again. Note: I am running 7 in 64bit.
  Reply With Quote
07-14-09, 09:49 PM   #8
▀link
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 19
partiton hd. throw wow folder on it. and just run w7. its very stable and better than xp. no need to dual boot.
  Reply With Quote
07-22-09, 12:16 AM   #9
DonCorneo
A Cyclonian
 
DonCorneo's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 47
Since 7 does not like all x86 programs, still have to run XP. The other question will the retail relase "update" RC or will it have to be a clean install like it was with beta.

I have figured out why I couldn't dual boot, it was due to the way W7 installer set up the boot info, namely the drive it used.

I am again reinstalling WoW, and have already installed Minion. Before I wiped the 1st W7 install, I had Minion running and it didn't seem to have any problems. Unless MS does something normal (at least for MS) and changes how 7 works, it looks like all will be fine.



Shirik has done a fine job with Minion. It was worth the wait.
  Reply With Quote
07-22-09, 12:31 AM   #10
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,488
I have a triple boot system with XP, Vista and now Windows 7 RC. I tested Minion recently on Windows 7 and had no problems although I didn't use it to update addons as I do them manually and minion has a problem with nUI which is the main addon I use.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
07-26-09, 06:04 PM   #11
Taryble
A Molten Giant
 
Taryble's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 811
I check Minion daily on my Win7 system. It works just fine.
__________________
-- Taryble
  Reply With Quote
08-01-09, 06:19 AM   #12
Tir
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
You shouldn't need to keep reinstalling WoW, it doesn't need registry entries. At least I'm still using the exe from an ancient XP install after Vista32 and now a whole new PC with Vista64. And do you really need to dual boot with 7's handy XP virtual machine?
  Reply With Quote
08-02-09, 03:30 PM   #13
guice
A Cobalt Mageweaver
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 236
I run WoWMinion on Win 7 without any issues (been through a few versions of Win 7).

Like it was stated above, you don't need to re-install WoW for any reason (other than it was deleted!). I have WoW on D:\ and it's lasted through several installs of Win7 without any complaints.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Site Forums » Minion » Archive » Windows 7

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off