Thread Tools Display Modes
02-12-10, 04:43 PM   #1
eqsanctum
The Great Equalizer
 
eqsanctum's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 155
Hey Carb, AI-Art

Hey I just became part of the AI-Art team

http://www.wowinterface.com/download...48-AI-Art.html

Wondered if we could get together to talk about skinning carbonite with what we do over there. We currently support things like auctioneer, etc. Wanted to get some input from you guys and see what you think about skinning carb.
__________________
"I make addons, mods, and interface compilations for options. No matter how good of a game dev you are, you do not know what I like." - EQSanctum
 
02-17-10, 04:03 PM   #2
carboniteaddon
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
carboniteaddon's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,245
I glanced at the page, but I don't have the time currently. I will try it out and reply back when I can.
__________________
faatal
 
02-19-10, 09:11 PM   #3
eqsanctum
The Great Equalizer
 
eqsanctum's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 155
I also use tukui and am in the process of skinning the windows for carbonite.

Its pretty simple stuff almost all window calls look like this:

Code:
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    -- Carbonite Quest List
    --------------------------------------------------------------------

    if IsAddOnLoaded("Carbonite") then
       local carbonitequestlist = CreateFrame("Frame", dmpanel, NxQuestList)
       carbonitequestlist:SetFrameLevel(1)
       carbonitequestlist:SetFrameStrata("medium")
       carbonitequestlist:SetPoint("top",0,2)
       carbonitequestlist:SetPoint("TOPRIGHT", NxQuestList, "TOPRIGHT", 0, -30)
       carbonitequestlist:SetPoint("BOTTOMLEFT", NxQuestList, "BOTTOMLEFT", -0, 1)
       carbonitequestlist:SetScale(1)
       
       carbonitequestlist:SetBackdrop( {
         bgFile = BLANK_TEXTURE,
         edgeFile = BLANK_TEXTURE,
         tile = false, tileSize = 0, edgeSize = 1,
         insets = { left = -1, right = -1, top = -1, bottom = -1 }
       })
       carbonitequestlist:SetBackdropColor(.1,.1,.1,1)
       carbonitequestlist:SetBackdropBorderColor(.6,.6,.6,1)
       end

Basic stuff really just changing names etc. Just curious though.. how many windows are there? So far Ive found 19 menu's... Anymore I need to know about? rofl
__________________
"I make addons, mods, and interface compilations for options. No matter how good of a game dev you are, you do not know what I like." - EQSanctum
 
03-01-10, 12:51 AM   #4
carboniteaddon
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
carboniteaddon's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,245
I don't know the exact count. I can test it when your done and tell you if you missed anything.
__________________
faatal
 
03-01-10, 04:32 AM   #5
eqsanctum
The Great Equalizer
 
eqsanctum's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 155
Ok... so after adding a bunch of hand edited LUA to tuk's UI, which by the way is here http://www.tukui.org/forum/viewtopic.php?p=11235#p11235 I realized what people were trying to do was, skin the squared version of the minimap that gets integrated into the skinned google like map cabronite makes. Ok now that I understand what they wanted, I guess I should rephrase the question.


Tuk does an excellent job of skinning the original MM and I want it to move and be integrated with Carbonite, but I dont want carbonite to skin it or move the buttons at all. I realize this would require some hand LUA editing, which is fine. I completely understand it would be me taking responsibility for it. We have a community of novice LUA editors who are carb users wanting to integrate carb into the look of tuk without changing the base functionality of carbonite.

So whatever code says to skin the MM can that simply be commented out?
__________________
"I make addons, mods, and interface compilations for options. No matter how good of a game dev you are, you do not know what I like." - EQSanctum

Last edited by eqsanctum : 03-01-10 at 05:01 AM.
 
03-08-10, 12:38 PM   #6
carboniteaddon
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
carboniteaddon's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,245
In the Minimap page of the options window we have these two settings:

"Move Minimap into Carbonite map (reload required)"
"Move Minimap buttons into Carbonite button window (reload required)"

Those determine if we try to control the minimap and buttons. I am not sure by your description what you are wanting to do. You could turn those off and do whatever you want to the minimap.
__________________
faatal
 
03-13-10, 12:21 PM   #7
eqsanctum
The Great Equalizer
 
eqsanctum's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 155
Originally Posted by carboniteaddon View Post
In the Minimap page of the options window we have these two settings:

"Move Minimap into Carbonite map (reload required)"
"Move Minimap buttons into Carbonite button window (reload required)"

Those determine if we try to control the minimap and buttons. I am not sure by your description what you are wanting to do. You could turn those off and do whatever you want to the minimap.

Well check out the attachment. That's with the MM after integration, moved outside the resized carb map. The problem Im running in to is the MM inside the carb map is pushed below the strat of the carb map. That's one issue. The other issue is when integrated, the map itself when resized to match the carb map doesnt allow for the texture pane ( the border/window ) of the MM to be resized. So the MM itself resizes but not the attached window. Make sense?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mmintegrate.jpg
Views:	286
Size:	24.6 KB
ID:	4087  
__________________
"I make addons, mods, and interface compilations for options. No matter how good of a game dev you are, you do not know what I like." - EQSanctum
 
03-17-10, 03:48 PM   #8
carboniteaddon
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
carboniteaddon's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,245
The MM level should be set each frame to keep it above the Carb map. Are you setting it yourself?

What happens when you change the map window level in the right click map title bar menu?

Can the attached window just watch the map size each frame and resize itself?
__________________
faatal
 
03-18-10, 04:24 AM   #9
eqsanctum
The Great Equalizer
 
eqsanctum's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 155
Originally Posted by carboniteaddon View Post
The MM level should be set each frame to keep it above the Carb map. Are you setting it yourself?
Setting the strat level via lua. Even at high the issue I have is the font does not come through in the small boxes above the carbonite map.

Originally Posted by carboniteaddon View Post
What happens when you change the map window level in the right click map title bar menu?
It helps to get the boxes to show but again the font doesnt come through

Originally Posted by carboniteaddon View Post
Can the attached window just watch the map size each frame and resize itself?
That is way beyond my scope. This is what the panel code looks like when skinning the quest watch frame. I use basically the same code just a different naming scheme for creating a skinned border, background, panel.

Is it possible to not have carb remove anything from the MM,and not have carb reskin it, while still importing it to carbs map? This would solve the skin issue, as well as the strata issue imo. It would allow TuKUI to skin the MM and then wouldn't have to worry about Carb sizing it. Since TuKUI can size it all I would need is the positioning and import portion of carbonite for it to work.

Code:
    if IsAddOnLoaded("Carbonite") then
       local carbonitequestbox = CreateFrame("Frame", dmpanel, NxQuestWatch)
       carbonitequestbox:SetFrameLevel(1)
       carbonitequestbox:SetFrameStrata("medium")
       carbonitequestbox:SetPoint("top",0,2)
       carbonitequestbox:SetPoint("TOPRIGHT", NxQuestWatch, "TOPRIGHT", 0, -30)
       carbonitequestbox:SetPoint("BOTTOMLEFT", NxQuestWatch, "BOTTOMLEFT", -0, 1)
       carbonitequestbox:SetScale(1)
       
       carbonitequestbox:SetBackdrop( {
         bgFile = BLANK_TEXTURE,
         edgeFile = BLANK_TEXTURE,
         tile = false, tileSize = 0, edgeSize = 1,
         insets = { left = -1, right = -1, top = -1, bottom = -1 }
       })
       carbonitequestbox:SetBackdropColor(.1,.1,.1,1)
       carbonitequestbox:SetBackdropBorderColor(.6,.6,.6,1)
       end
__________________
"I make addons, mods, and interface compilations for options. No matter how good of a game dev you are, you do not know what I like." - EQSanctum

Last edited by eqsanctum : 03-18-10 at 04:27 AM.
 
03-18-10, 04:34 AM   #10
eqsanctum
The Great Equalizer
 
eqsanctum's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 155
btw the end product looks like this:





Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	map.jpg
Views:	557
Size:	794.5 KB
ID:	4090  Click image for larger version

Name:	mm.jpg
Views:	542
Size:	615.1 KB
ID:	4091  
__________________
"I make addons, mods, and interface compilations for options. No matter how good of a game dev you are, you do not know what I like." - EQSanctum

Last edited by eqsanctum : 03-18-10 at 04:37 AM.
 
11-22-10, 09:08 AM   #11
Baz4k
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
Baz4k's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12
I hate to necro an old thread, but has this been complete for Carbonite yet? I love Carb, but would love the ability to re-skin the UI to fit more closely with the stock UI.
 
11-27-10, 07:41 PM   #12
trodriguezzz
Premium Member
 
trodriguezzz's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Originally Posted by bizzy401 View Post
I hate to necro an old thread, but has this been complete for Carbonite yet? I love Carb, but would love the ability to re-skin the UI to fit more closely with the stock UI.
hahahaaa I agree, hate commenting on old threads but bringing this back to the front, I just found AI-Art and really like the look of it!!! Would be nice to add carbonite to its partners!

 
11-29-10, 02:01 AM   #13
carboniteaddon
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
carboniteaddon's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,245
I've got so much other stuff on the todo list I don't wanna hurt my head even thinking about this. If someone bumps the thread a few weeks after Dec 7, I'll think about it.
__________________
faatal
 
11-29-10, 05:54 PM   #14
trodriguezzz
Premium Member
 
trodriguezzz's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Originally Posted by carboniteaddon View Post
I've got so much other stuff on the todo list I don't wanna hurt my head even thinking about this. If someone bumps the thread a few weeks after Dec 7, I'll think about it.
awesome - thanks for the quick answer!
 
12-03-10, 01:22 PM   #15
thenamir
A Kobold Labourer
 
thenamir's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
I also think this is a worthwhile feature, but understand the priority of adapting to cataclysm. I'll try to remember to get bump this thread sometime in January.

Thanks for all your work on this!
__________________
"The object of life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding oneself in the ranks of the insane." -- Marcus Aurelius
 
12-05-10, 05:18 AM   #16
eqsanctum
The Great Equalizer
 
eqsanctum's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 155
Thanks for the bump. I was looking for this the other day

When TuK releases his latest version after cata, say week 3 *chuckle* I'll post up the newest info on his libraries etc. ( I will get his permission of course )
__________________
"I make addons, mods, and interface compilations for options. No matter how good of a game dev you are, you do not know what I like." - EQSanctum
 
 

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » Carbonite » Carbonite Archive » Hey Carb, AI-Art


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off