11-24-10, 03:41 AM   #1
Pyrates
A Cliff Giant

AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Making an alternative power bar

Hey all I'm using a nice oUf layout that has a power bar already (yay ). I want to make an alternative one and switch between those two ingame (on shapeshift, I guess). I know how to make a power bar, so let's just say I have oUF_player.Power (the original working bar) and oUF_player.altpower (my newly constructed bar not in use). On login, I'd execute "oUF_player.oldpower = oUF_player.Power" to save the original bar in an independent variable. Now my idea would be to catch the shapeshift event and then as appropriate use the following code:

Code:
oUF_player.Power = oUF_player.altpower
oUF_player.oldpower:Hide()
On shifting back, I'd use

Code:
oUF_player.Power = oUF_player.oldpower
oUF_player.altpower:Hide()
I have the following questions now:
  • Does it work this way, or did I miss something?
  • What if I call this function in combat? I have no experience what one can do in combat, but of course I can protect the whole thing via InCombatLockdown(), but is it necessary?
  • Any good way to find out which one is the active power bar via code? Can I use something like "oUF_player.Power == oUF_player.oldpower" to check if the original power bar is active? Or what else should I do (thing that comes to my mind would be a global variable for that, or a local one of oUF_player, but that sounds kinda... constructed ^^).

Thanks for any help and pointers
11-24-10, 07:35 PM   #2
Krag72
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
I don't see why something like that wouldn't work. UNIT_DISPLAYPOWER is fired when the power type changes so you can catch than and then use UnitPowerType(unit) to check which bar you want hidden/displayed.

If you want to be able to check which bar you have you can always add a field to the bars like oUF_player.Power.BarNumber = 1 and 2 respectively.
11-25-10, 02:54 PM   #3
haste
Featured Artist

Premium Member
Featured