Quantcast
nUI -- A full feature standalone UI replacement - Page 50 - WoWInterface
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
09-25-08, 03:03 PM   #981
iocontrol
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 29
One thing I noticed while running Mech last night w/ my lock is that the Debuff for Enslave Demon does not show properly on the "pet". This makes it nigh impossible to tell when the pet is supposed to turn on his master.

This led to another discovery where the pet cannot be forcibly dismissed via menu on pet -- disabling voice still doesn't resolve the issue.

Otherwise, nUI has been working like a charm.
 
09-25-08, 05:08 PM   #982
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Mscott --

Looking at that image, I notice that the HUD is still centered around your character but that your character has also shifted down from where it should be.

nUI moves the entire world frame up by half the height of the dashboard to compensate for the vertical space it consumes. It looks like you have a mod or something that is moving the world frame back down.

Originally Posted by mscott998 View Post
there is a bug to where the hud drops down from its original position from time to time, reloading fixes it, but it gets annoying, sometimes zoning in and out of an instance works too fix it too.

__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
09-25-08, 05:11 PM   #983
fred
A Cobalt Mageweaver
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 208
That's the same thing I have spiel.
Attached Files
File Type: txt myaddons.txt (4.0 KB, 707 views)
 
09-25-08, 05:12 PM   #984
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Originally Posted by whereswaldo View Post
Am I missing an addon that will force the battleground map into the information panel. The first picture shows the info panel with the battleground map turned off. The second one shows it after a Shift-M. It is unclickable and unmovable.
WheresWaldo -- you should be using Shift-M anymore for one. However, the map should still be fitting inside of the panel, I'm not sure why it isn't. Do you have any mods installed that modify the battlefield minimap?

Try making sure the map is displayed, then type '/nui rl' to reload the interface and see if it "fits" into the info panel as it is supposed to. If not, check and see what mods you have installed... I think Cartographer and/or Carbonite twiddle the battlefield minimap, so either of them could be responsible.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
09-25-08, 05:14 PM   #985
bkp57
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
bkp57's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 20
Talking

Originally Posted by iocontrol View Post
One thing I noticed while running Mech last night w/ my lock is that the Debuff for Enslave Demon does not show properly on the "pet". This makes it nigh impossible to tell when the pet is supposed to turn on his master.

This led to another discovery where the pet cannot be forcibly dismissed via menu on pet -- disabling voice still doesn't resolve the issue.

Otherwise, nUI has been working like a charm.
hey iocontrol

a temporary fix... make a macro that looks like this:

/run PetAbandon()

that should dismiss or abandon any summoned or controlled pet you have, until spiel fixes it up.

bkp57
 
09-25-08, 05:16 PM   #986
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Originally Posted by docacola View Post
This may have been answered further back, but I didn't particularly want to read 47 pages of posts to find it. I also didn't see it on the AddOn's page.

How do you lock the blizzard windows (Character Sheet, spellbooks, quest logs, etc) so that you can't drag them around?


Sorry if it was answered elsewhere, but I couldn't see it and figured I'd get a fast response here.
Docacola -- there is not toggle to turn that feature off... just don't drag them if you don't want to ~grin~ It only moves the window if you click and drag and it does not "remember" where you dragged it to, so the next time you open the window, it opens in the default location. The feature is just there to let you move a window out of the way when you need to. I really can't see where there's a need for an option to turn that off, though it can be added if there's a real need for it... feel free to explain why you feel that need if you like.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
09-25-08, 05:19 PM   #987
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Psychophan -- there's is no "setup" based on screen resolution. nUI is self-scaling and will support any display resolution Bliz supports without reconfiguration of anything.

As for the other windows... no, they use the default Bliz art and I haven't really given any thought to changing that. Don't know that I will. Maybe when I've truly run out of things to do ~smile~

Originally Posted by Psychophan7 View Post
I'm probably not going to use this UI (I'm not a fan of the height of the dashboard or the top portion) but I have to say that this is pretty awesome. It's really neat how much you've accomplished using so little disk space (which I can only assume means it'll use the same amount as memory in-game?). It looks like everything fits and belongs, though, which is really cool.

I'm also not a fan of the dashboard texture, but that can be easily fixed on my end (if I use this UI).

Two questions: Do windows (like the quest log or while talking to an NPC) have new art or the default Blizzard art? Also, are there different setups for widescreen and normal screen?
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
09-25-08, 05:20 PM   #988
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Originally Posted by Raema View Post
i downloaded this addon yesterday and i have to say that i really love it. but, yes BUT there is one thing that's not that good i think. is there a way to move the tooltip when you mouseover a player or npc to the cursor? because i don't wanna look at the left side all the time to know which class the other player has ^^
Rema --

Use '/nui movers' to enable the frame movers, drag the tooltip anchor to where you want tooltips to be displayed and then type '/nui movers' a second time to lock the movers back down.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
09-25-08, 05:24 PM   #989
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Tehryn --

You are correct... there continues to be a bug in the (de)buff module which is interfering with the display of the stack counts on (de)buffs. I'm currently miffed as to the cause, but I'm working on it. I'm praying I can get it sorted out in this next update.

Originally Posted by Tehryn View Post
Hi Spiel,

Sick of getting a regular paypacket yet ?

Playing my warrior I noticed that the stackable Sunder Armor didn't show up as such, i.e. hitting SA a few times seemed to restart the timer each time but did not indicate that it was stacked twice (or more).

Been a while since I played a warrior so maybe Blizz in their almighty wisdom changed something here...

Update: Up to lvl 19 it was as described above. Now, on 20, I notice that when hitting SA I get one icon showing 0.1s (and it stays like that) and another one which counts down as per normal. Hitting SA again will restart that countdown.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
09-25-08, 05:28 PM   #990
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Originally Posted by Jungleanimal View Post
Speil,

Please don't allow your real life to interfere with your virtual life. No updates in 8 days means this real life thing is getting out of control.

Jungle
The preceding was an attempt at humor
~roflmao~

This reminds me of one of my all-time favorite pieces of bathroom literature (i.e. something someone carved into the walls of a bathroom stall)...

"LSD: Consumes 100,000 times its weight in excess reality"

The new job is SO cool. I'm loving it. The learning curve is huge since I've never done modeling and simulation work before, but I'm playing with modeling Blackhawk Helicopters... it just doesn't get a whole lot cooler than that.

That said... getting to play WoW last night for the first time in about three weeks was worth its weight in gold. Too much reality, even when it's fun, is unhealthy.

~lol~
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
09-25-08, 05:30 PM   #991
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
I'll look into it Fred, thanks for the heads up. That said, I have almost no control over the location of the tooltips relative to the mod buttons beyond the '/nui tooltips {option}' command. But the 'X' button is all my fault ~lol~

Originally Posted by fred View Post
Hiya spiel,

Minimap button bag: Dunno if you have control of the tooltip, some of the mods tootip show up right over the icon so I can't interact with them.
In combat, I could open the button bag, but when I tried to close using the 'x' in the corner it wouldn't close it ( NOT a big deal though)
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
09-25-08, 05:33 PM   #992
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Tehryn -- this is with no other mods enabled except nUI? On US or European servers?

(puzzled)

Originally Posted by Tehryn View Post
Fred/Sloth,

What I have found is this:

'nui tooltips fixed':
ALL tooltips left side of screen.

'nui tooltips default':
cursor on player/npc puts tooltip bottom-right next to the map.
cursor on item in bags puts tooltips left of the cursor.

'nui tooltips mouse':
cursor on player/npc puts tooltip left side of screen.
cursor on item in bags puts tooltip under cursor.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
09-25-08, 05:36 PM   #993
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Originally Posted by anxulite View Post
Something is causing the player and minimap buttons at the bottom of nui to stop functioning. the action buttons at the bottom left next to the player button stop functioning as well. I have to do a /nui rl to get them functioning again.

anyone have a fix for this?
Anxulite -- do you have Titan Panel installed by any chance? It seems there's something weird in the latest release that's creating a mouse activated invisible frame at the bottom of the screen which is overlapping my buttons and I haven't had a chance to run that down yet.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
09-25-08, 05:40 PM   #994
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
IOControl --

I BG a ton with my hunter (she wrecks a BG) and generally there's no caveats other than I do sometimes see frame lag spikes that drive me nuts, but I can't tell how much of that is nUI and how much of it is my laptop (I have similar problems without any mods installed). That said, I do think nUI is leaking frame rate and that's an area I'm still trying to improve on.

Of course, nUI is fine for WSG and AB since those are both 10 man BGs. EOTS and AV are another matter. For now, I just use the party unit panel and if I have a need to see the other raid groups, I can pull out the built in WoW raid tabs.

Originally Posted by iocontrol View Post
I've yet to hit the BGs w/ nUI and have been hesitant since the raid layouts haven't been implemented yet ... are there any caveats I should be aware of?

I have a Tank, DPS, and Healer I want to put through the honor grind - while the Tank/DPS doesn't necessarily need to see the health of all their teammates, I think that sort of information is nigh important for a healer. Can anyone share their experiences and perhaps suggestions using nUI in BGs so far?
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
09-25-08, 05:41 PM   #995
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Originally Posted by MyKroFt View Post
I can tell you for sure, nui and wowlk (beta) dont get along at all.....

Hopefully my donation I made helps pay the cable bill.....

Myk
MyK -- it did help and thank you very much for supporting nUI (along with all of those who have and do) -- it always means a lot to me... I work very hard on this project and it's always rewarding to know it matters to people.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
09-25-08, 05:45 PM   #996
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Originally Posted by trezy View Post
Hey Spiel, great to have you back! Donation coming your way. Two things, first off I would love if you could get the UI Scaleing added in the next version as thats the one thing thats stopping me from using the UI atm. And second I am in the beta and if you need some help testing out the UI on 3.0.2 I'm glad to help out and I got some understanding of LUA. Thanks again and I look forward to seeing the updates.
Thank you Trezy --

I hope to have the 'Use UI Scale' bug fixed in soon. As for WotLK -- I'll be starting the port in October with an eye to being ready for release by the time WotLK goes on sale... I'll be starting with a closed alpha for all nUI supporters as I did with Beta 2 and then will open it to public beta. I am shooting for starting the closed alpha test phase by the third week of October.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
09-25-08, 05:48 PM   #997
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Originally Posted by fred View Post
Nice to see you back spiel! And I hope your feeling better...I was under the weather this week too, just not as bad.

I don't know you personally BlackFireFox, but thanks.

I'm getting taint on the last version, should I post it spiel? And my hunters built in feed button is wigging out, works at first then quits.

I would defiantly contribute spiel, but when I have to go to the food bank to feed my own 3 kids .
Thanks Fred -- and hope you're feeling better as well... and please know I do not by any means expect anyone to donate... I am grateful to those who do, but I appreciate every user regardless of whether or not the contribute financially... they support nUI in lots of ways... answering questions, making suggestions and bug reports, promoting it to their guilds and their friends, etc. It's all one community... I'm just the guy who writes the code is all.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
09-25-08, 05:49 PM   #998
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Originally Posted by iocontrol View Post
One thing I noticed while running Mech last night w/ my lock is that the Debuff for Enslave Demon does not show properly on the "pet". This makes it nigh impossible to tell when the pet is supposed to turn on his master.

This led to another discovery where the pet cannot be forcibly dismissed via menu on pet -- disabling voice still doesn't resolve the issue.

Otherwise, nUI has been working like a charm.
I just levelled my lock to 70 before the cable was shut off... I'll take some time to play with this this weekend and see if I can reproduce the problem.

Can you be more specific than "does not show properly" so I know what to look for?
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
09-25-08, 05:53 PM   #999
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Originally Posted by fred View Post
That's the same thing I have spiel.
Holy Smackeral there Fred -- that's a long list of mods.

My suggestion is this... figure out a sequence of steps you can take that cause the error to occur every time. Then log out and disable 1/2 of your mods. If the problem goes away, then the "problem" mod is in the half you disabled, otherwise, it's in the half you didn't. Keep repeating the process for 1/2 of the remaining mods each time and you should quickly home in on which mod is at fault. Let me know which one it is and I'll see if I can figure out why and how to fix it.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
09-25-08, 06:10 PM   #1000
fred
A Cobalt Mageweaver
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 208
I read in a post up the page something about nUI having a built in ability to move the spellbook and others? I have been using "Dragqueen" for this...hhmm, maybe not needed?

http://www.curse.com/downloads/details/2580/
 
 

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » Support » nUI: Technical Support » nUI -- A full feature standalone UI replacement

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off