Quantcast
Skada Profiles - WoWInterface
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
08-12-09, 04:46 PM   #1
todd0168
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
todd0168's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 290
Skada Profiles

Ok, this question goes out to all the Skada users, as well as any programmers that might understand the issue I am having and can offer solutions/suggestions.

The issue I am having is really one of convenience, not a bug or issue like that. I have switched to Skada from Omen/Recount and love it. Get everything from both in one addon. My only 'problem' (meaning I want to be lazy and not have to change what displays depending on what toon I'm on) is that when I'm on my huntard/mage/pally/lock/etc the default set up of dps on one and threat in and total damage out of combat is just fine. But on my priest (holy) I don't really give a rip about threat (seeing as how it won't even register if I'm not attacking) but would much rather have heals showing in combat and possibly even out of combat. I tried to set a profile and it just absolutely fubar'd my skada (no, not the addon, the acronym for everything going very, very wrong).

I had windows not wanting to stay in the infopane, things just getting very messy. So I quickly ditched that idea and went back to just trying to remember to change them depending on what toon I'm on. But then it dawned on my when chatting with Scott on how to get it back to normal.

nUI is basially telling skada to set up the windows a certain way on login. Is there a way to avoid this nUI override on startup and just let it load based on what the particular toon has it set up as? Or is this going to be even more annoying than just manually switching it every time I switch toons?
__________________
 
08-12-09, 04:48 PM   #2
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Once nUI has told Skada what settings to use, it doesn't try to tell it again. So you should be able to just change Skada's threat to heals while you're in combat (just right click the window and change to heals) and from then on it should switch that way automatically.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
08-12-09, 04:50 PM   #3
todd0168
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
todd0168's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 290
Yeah, it does, every time I log in on any character. So lets say I'm on my healer. I set it to heals. Run my raid all fine and dandy. Then the next day I log on my mage to make some pew pew. Have to switch Skada back to threat/dmg. Log back on my healer that night to run another raid. Have to switch back to healz. What I'm hoping for is to be able to set it so that the mage always has threat/dmg and the healer always has heals. But I can't get this to work.
__________________
 
08-12-09, 05:31 PM   #4
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,551
I think thats a skada limitation. I can log onto another server totally and it will show the data for the normal server. All nUI does is assign the two sides dps or damage/threat. Skada only seems to keep one setting regardless of what class you are. I've been having to do that alot jumping from toon to toon or spec to spec.
__________________
 
08-12-09, 06:27 PM   #5
todd0168
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
todd0168's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 290
Well, the reason I ask is because if you look at the menu for Skada, there is an option to set profiles. Which implies to me I can set a healing 'profile' for my healer and leave the default nUI setup for my dps. The only problem is, trying to setup the profiles seems to bork the nUI/Skada interaction and just fouls everything all to heck.

What I was hoping to find was that someone had been able to set the profiles up and not have it completely screw everything up in the process.

And my very limited programming knowledge prevents me from looking to see if it's something in the way nUI has Skada set up in the infopane.
__________________
 
08-12-09, 07:42 PM   #6
Vis
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Vis's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,825
Got it


1) Go into Skada's config.
2) Create a new profile named "Healer" or whatever you would like. Ignore the borked windows.
3) Just below the create new profile box, choose to "copy from" and select "Default" or whatever yours is set to. Default is what makes all your data go with every toon no matter what one you are on.
4) /nui rl (fixes borked infopanel view of Skada)
5) Make changes to your Healer profile

Rinse and repeat for every style of view you would like. Everytime you load a new profile, you will have to /nui rl or the view of the windows will stay borked

Changing profiles seems to mess with nUI's control of Skada's placement since I believe placement and association with the Infopanel is only done at load.
 
08-13-09, 12:05 AM   #7
todd0168
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
todd0168's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 290
Originally Posted by Vis View Post
Got it


1) Go into Skada's config.
2) Create a new profile named "Healer" or whatever you would like. Ignore the borked windows.
3) Just below the create new profile box, choose to "copy from" and select "Default" or whatever yours is set to. Default is what makes all your data go with every toon no matter what one you are on.
4) /nui rl (fixes borked infopanel view of Skada)
5) Make changes to your Healer profile

Rinse and repeat for every style of view you would like. Everytime you load a new profile, you will have to /nui rl or the view of the windows will stay borked

Changing profiles seems to mess with nUI's control of Skada's placement since I believe placement and association with the Infopanel is only done at load.
Ok, so the million dollar question is...will it keep each profile per character or will I still have to switch for each one? Because if it doesn't save the profile for each character it winds up being more work. lol

I will have to test it out and see what happens.
__________________
 
08-13-09, 04:51 AM   #8
Vis
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Vis's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,825
It should save the profile/toon association once you have it set. All I did to verify changes were made was to swap the font of one of the skada windows then log to another character. One toon had the oddball font, the other had the default
 
08-13-09, 08:14 AM   #9
todd0168
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
todd0168's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 290
Thanks so much Vis, I could kiss you right now....but I won't.
__________________
 
08-13-09, 09:57 AM   #10
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
That was a scary moment there!

~lol~
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
08-13-09, 10:43 AM   #11
todd0168
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
todd0168's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 290
Originally Posted by spiel2001 View Post
That was a scary moment there!

~lol~
I know, right?
__________________
 
08-13-09, 02:16 PM   #12
todd0168
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
todd0168's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 290
Ok. I have officially tested it and Vis you are a godsend. My healer now always shows heals, and my pew pews always show threat.

/adore

__________________
 
08-13-09, 07:24 PM   #13
Vis
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Vis's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,825
Glad I could help
 
08-16-09, 12:42 AM   #14
Way
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 6
Originally Posted by Vis View Post
Glad I could help
Now get in game and play with me?
 
08-16-09, 12:16 PM   #15
Vis
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Vis's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,825
Originally Posted by Way View Post
Now get in game and play with me?
LOL!! The username wasn't a giveaway was it Way? Kronk and I are going to be doing some heroic outlands runs for the achievement today, you want in? You know where to find us at around 4pm server time
 
08-16-09, 12:20 PM   #16
Way
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 6
Originally Posted by Vis View Post
LOL!! The username wasn't a giveaway was it Way? Kronk and I are going to be doing some heroic outlands runs for the achievement today, you want in? You know where to find us at around 4pm server time
4pm = I make dinner, haha.
 
08-31-09, 08:47 AM   #17
Jekka
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Originally Posted by Vis View Post
Got it


1) Go into Skada's config.
2) Create a new profile named "Healer" or whatever you would like. Ignore the borked windows.
3) Just below the create new profile box, choose to "copy from" and select "Default" or whatever yours is set to. Default is what makes all your data go with every toon no matter what one you are on.
4) /nui rl (fixes borked infopanel view of Skada)
5) Make changes to your Healer profile

Rinse and repeat for every style of view you would like. Everytime you load a new profile, you will have to /nui rl or the view of the windows will stay borked

Changing profiles seems to mess with nUI's control of Skada's placement since I believe placement and association with the Infopanel is only done at load.
I have not tried skada yet, (will d/l tonight) but I have a question that maybe someone can answer: Can it handle dual spec so that the profiles shift automatically? ie log on as ele sham = dps and change to resto = heals
 
08-31-09, 10:20 AM   #18
todd0168
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
todd0168's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 290
I'm no expert, but from what I can tell you would have to switch it manually when you switch specs. It appears to be character specific, not spec specific. But you can do like I do and have a default(DPSer) and healer profile and you can just swap profiles when you swap specs. (I think)
__________________
 
08-31-09, 05:57 PM   #19
Vis
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Vis's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,825
Originally Posted by todd0168 View Post
I'm no expert, but from what I can tell you would have to switch it manually when you switch specs. It appears to be character specific, not spec specific. But you can do like I do and have a default(DPSer) and healer profile and you can just swap profiles when you swap specs. (I think)
This looks to be 100% right I don't think there is a single meter type addon out there that will auto switch based on talent swapping. For 99% (a guess) of users, I would think that the meter swapping automagically wouldn't be a thought. Truth be told, I never even thought to see if a meter could do that, lol.

The only other thing to keep in mind when loading a different profile is that you will have to use "/nui rl" each time to fix the parenting of Skada to nUI.
 
09-24-09, 08:53 PM   #20
Animorph
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 24
ill pop my little question in this thread, i think its more or less along the same lines. Is there any way to have a 3rd window active? i'm a healer who likes to keep an eye on the dps and the threat so i can yell at em
__________________
 
 

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » Customization » nUI: Plugin Support » Skada Profiles

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off