Thread Tools Display Modes
07-21-16, 01:15 PM   #1
LanceDH
A Cyclonian
 
LanceDH's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 41
Addon causing CompactRaidFrames errors in combat

One of my addons is having issues with CompactRaidFrames errors when someone leaves/joins a group while in combat.
Example error:
Code:
1x [ADDON_ACTION_BLOCKED] AddOn 'LoreLibrary' tried to call the protected function 'CompactRaidGroup3Member5:Show()'.
!BugGrabber\BugGrabber.lua:573: in function <!BugGrabber\BugGrabber.lua:573>
[C]: in function `Show'
FrameXML\CompactUnitFrame.lua:330: in function `CompactUnitFrame_UpdateVisible'
FrameXML\CompactUnitFrame.lua:280: in function `CompactUnitFrame_UpdateAll'
FrameXML\CompactUnitFrame.lua:115: in function <FrameXML\CompactUnitFrame.lua:51>

Locals:
I tried figuring out what is causing it but just can't figure it out.
Code can be found on my github.

When using that code I get following taintlog by default (so not when an error happens):
taintLog == 1
With taintlog == 2 I get the following taintlog:
using UIDropDownMenu_Initialize (big)
using dropdown.initialize = function instead
The full caps LOLIB_ ones are from global variables to use in XML.

I don't even know if any of that is even causing this issue or not, though I feel it might be because of the dropdown menus.
  Reply With Quote
07-21-16, 05:42 PM   #2
Resike
A Pyroguard Emberseer
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,290
http://www.wowinterface.com/download...pDownMenu.html
  Reply With Quote
07-22-16, 02:16 AM   #3
LanceDH
A Cyclonian
 
LanceDH's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 41
So in a nutshell; It's impossible to use dropdown menus using blizz's code without getting this issue?
  Reply With Quote
07-22-16, 02:56 AM   #4
Kanegasi
A Molten Giant
 
Kanegasi's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 666
Originally Posted by LanceDH View Post
So in a nutshell; It's impossible to use dropdown menus using blizz's code without getting this issue?
From what I understand, you can't use it if your addon changes it during combat. In very simple applications that only change with user interaction and very rarely during combat, it should be fine. This is a similar issue with the Chat Tab Flash taints. Blizzard's secure code just isn't perfect.
  Reply With Quote
07-22-16, 06:58 AM   #5
Lombra
A Molten Giant
 
Lombra's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 554
Originally Posted by LanceDH View Post
So in a nutshell; It's impossible to use dropdown menus using blizz's code without getting this issue?
Don't know about this particular issue, but I had another taint issue related to the PvP frame caused by dropdowns. Basically there are some features that will taint stuff. For example using the "MENU" style dropdown option would taint it.
__________________
Grab your sword and fight the Horde!
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Lua/XML Help » Addon causing CompactRaidFrames errors in combat

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off