Quantcast
[Suggestion]: Concerning Clean Updates - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
05-04-09, 07:22 PM   #1
PerfectH
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
PerfectH's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 137
[Suggestion]: Concerning Clean Updates

A few weeks ago I redownloaded the latest version of Curse Client and I liked it, however, it did something I wasn't too fond of: upon performing an AddOn update, it deletes the AddOn(s) it's updating then reinstalls it with a fresh copy.

While for the casual user this probably isn't a problem at all, but with my UI setup, I have my own custom artwork and stuff saved inside the AddOn folder.

For instance, I have inside kgPanels a folder I created for my UI's artwork, and I'd like it to stay there. When I performed an update on Curse Client, it deleted the current kgPanels folder from my AddOn directory and replaced the entire folder with a new version, thus deleting my custom art. Lucky for me, I had a back up.

Anyways, I guess my point is please, if it's not too much trouble, at least make a client-end option to prevent this from happening. Thank you and great job on the updater so far!

P.S. I recently subscribed to WoWI to help support the website because I use this website just about everyday, will there be any special exclusive features in MMOUI Minion that will be for Site Supporters such as myself?
__________________
I might fail at AddOn creativity...but damn do I love Coca-Cola!
  Reply With Quote
05-04-09, 08:33 PM   #2
Yhor
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Yhor's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,077
Found in the FAQ. Posted by Cairenn @ http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=22789

3. Is there a “premium” version?
Sort of. There will be one version of it for everyone. The only difference that users will see right now is that if a user is a Premium Member on our sites, then whenever they are on one of our tabs (more about those down further) they won’t see ads on the updater. If they aren’t a Premium Member on our sites, there will be one 300x250 ad block in the lower right corner that they will see.
4. This means it isn’t “crippled” in any way?
That is correct. There will be an “Update all” button that will work for everyone, whether you are a Premium Member on our sites or not. There won’t be any throttling of download speed if you aren't a Premium Member. The only difference right now will be whether or not there are ads showing when on our tabs.
Hope this answers your last question.
  Reply With Quote
05-04-09, 11:25 PM   #3
Shirik
Blasphemer!
Premium Member
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 818
Unfortunately I currently do the same. This is the only real way to avoid clutter and to ensure a clean install occurs. However, I think it's something that could be argued as a request for an improvement somewhere post-beta to make it a client-side option.
__________________
たしかにひとつのじだいがおわるのお
ぼくはこのめでみたよ
だけどつぎがじぶんおばんだってことわ
しりたくなかったんだ
It's my turn next.

Shakespeare liked regexes too!
/(bb|[^b]{2})/
  Reply With Quote
05-05-09, 12:24 AM   #4
MidgetMage55
Grinch!
 
MidgetMage55's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,498
I had a similar issue with updaters in the past and my custom artwork. To avoid the issue in case of a program bug or my own goof i started putting my art in the interface folder. This way unless you totally delete that folder its always there. Also makes my file paths shorter to type cause im lazy like that. =P
__________________

I think Hong Kong Phooey was a ninja AND a pirate. That was just too much awesome. - Yhor
  Reply With Quote
05-05-09, 01:01 AM   #5
Zyonin
Coffee powered Kaldorei
 
Zyonin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,440
Originally Posted by MidgetMage55 View Post
I had a similar issue with updaters in the past and my custom artwork. To avoid the issue in case of a program bug or my own goof i started putting my art in the interface folder. This way unless you totally delete that folder its always there. Also makes my file paths shorter to type cause im lazy like that. =P
I have done something similar although in my case, my artwork is in a custom AddOn that also holds my fonts, some code to change the default Damage Text, code to enable a /rl shortcut command for reloading my UI and other UI tweaks. This makes things real easy on the update side of things unless I have tweaked the code of the to be updated AddOn. However for that, I have a file called "Code Snippets" where I keep all my custom code (and bits of code that I find and may use) so I just have to do a copy and paste into the new AddOn version.
__________________
LiveJournal | Twitter

  Reply With Quote
05-05-09, 01:12 AM   #6
Cairenn
Credendo Vides
 
Cairenn's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,111
Originally Posted by Lykofos View Post
so I just have to do a copy and paste into the new AddOn version.
  Reply With Quote
05-05-09, 01:15 AM   #7
Zyonin
Coffee powered Kaldorei
 
Zyonin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,440
Originally Posted by Cairenn View Post
I think I am going to "steal" that smiley. I love it. It reminds of a long session in The GIMP with images all over my screen
__________________
LiveJournal | Twitter

  Reply With Quote
05-07-09, 12:11 AM   #8
Graloth
Premium Member
 
Graloth's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 15
Originally Posted by PerfectH View Post
A few weeks ago I redownloaded the latest version of Curse Client and I liked it, however, it did something I wasn't too fond of: upon performing an AddOn update, it deletes the AddOn(s) it's updating then reinstalls it with a fresh copy.

While for the casual user this probably isn't a problem at all, but with my UI setup, I have my own custom artwork and stuff saved inside the AddOn folder.

For instance, I have inside kgPanels a folder I created for my UI's artwork, and I'd like it to stay there. When I performed an update on Curse Client, it deleted the current kgPanels folder from my AddOn directory and replaced the entire folder with a new version, thus deleting my custom art. Lucky for me, I had a back up.

Anyways, I guess my point is please, if it's not too much trouble, at least make a client-end option to prevent this from happening. Thank you and great job on the updater so far!

P.S. I recently subscribed to WoWI to help support the website because I use this website just about everyday, will there be any special exclusive features in MMOUI Minion that will be for Site Supporters such as myself?
About your artwork, i've had the same problem, but decided to go another route that would (hopeully) prevent it from happening again regardless of what updater i would use.

I simply created a folder for my textures inside the Interface folder, right next to the AddOn folder, while its probably not the best idea it works perfectly for me and it doesn't get deleted or anything when updating
  Reply With Quote
05-08-09, 01:53 AM   #9
Phantom
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 27
Originally Posted by Shirik View Post
Unfortunately I currently do the same. This is the only real way to avoid clutter and to ensure a clean install occurs. However, I think it's something that could be argued as a request for an improvement somewhere post-beta to make it a client-side option.
I am going to have to speak my mind on this, programmer to programmer.

Could you not provide a "clean install" option?

The option could be enabled by default so to avoid issues. It could even be enabled for each add-on if that was easier. As long as the file is not being used by the operating system or has some sort of permission restriction, other programmer languages I have used have allowed me to replace files if they already exist.

One option would be to allow add-on authors to force a "clean install" if they change the file structure in a release. This could be a flag that the program itself knows about on a given release version of an add-on.

I am trying to whore my ideas out.
  Reply With Quote
05-08-09, 02:00 AM   #10
Shirik
Blasphemer!
Premium Member
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 818
There are a lot of ways that could be done, though I will admit none of them will make it in before beta. I'm currently operating in a feature-freeze mode and requests even from Cairenn and the gods that be are being denied until beta is released.

I do want to add some kind of option like this, but I tend to be against requiring additional work on both authors and users. I think the easiest thing would be for everything to default to "Clean Install" but when you right click on it, you could turn it off. An alternative would be for the author to request that it be "clean installed." Both of these have pros and cons.
__________________
たしかにひとつのじだいがおわるのお
ぼくはこのめでみたよ
だけどつぎがじぶんおばんだってことわ
しりたくなかったんだ
It's my turn next.

Shakespeare liked regexes too!
/(bb|[^b]{2})/
  Reply With Quote
05-08-09, 02:11 AM   #11
Phantom
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 27
Originally Posted by Shirik View Post
There are a lot of ways that could be done, though I will admit none of them will make it in before beta. I'm currently operating in a feature-freeze mode and requests even from Cairenn and the gods that be are being denied until beta is released.

I do want to add some kind of option like this, but I tend to be against requiring additional work on both authors and users. I think the easiest thing would be for everything to default to "Clean Install" but when you right click on it, you could turn it off. An alternative would be for the author to request that it be "clean installed." Both of these have pros and cons.
I understand the woes of a program of that size your attempting to build.

I am still going to whore my ideas out there.

After 7 years all I have is this stinking
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Site Forums » Minion » Archive » [Suggestion]: Concerning Clean Updates

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off