Quantcast
Two bugs - WoWInterface
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
12-09-09, 04:55 AM   #1
Bomyne
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 123
Two bugs

The first one is rather minor and I'm not sure if the second one is a bug or lack of feature.

1) Everytime I load into the game, I need to /rl before anything on nUI is visable. Not sure why.
2) my unit frames doesn't show my group role when I'm in a group from the dungeon finder. I had to ask others what the default UI showed my role as cause I queued up as DPS and healer.
 
12-09-09, 07:23 AM   #2
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,492
1. It's possible that something is loading up in the wrong order as in an addon needs something that hasn't loaded initially and a reloadui corrects it. Try having just the nUI addons ( and if you have any plugins for it the addons they need ) activated and see if it happens then. If it doesn't check your other addons and see what possibly could be linked to another addon.

2. Probably due to the recent addition of a role icon possibly not being added by default onto the player frames. Hopefully Scott has it coded into the addon but just forgot to set it up in the layout files to be enabled and he will be able to let you know what you need in there for it to work while it gets looked into.
__________________
 
12-09-09, 08:42 AM   #3
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
With regard to the first problem, this is likely caused by another mod that is integrated into nUI such as Recount, Omen3, Skada, etc... I would suggest disabling everything except nUI itself and see if it loads correctly. If it does, start adding your other mods back one or two at a time until it breaks again. Once we know which addon it is, we can sort out why.

As for the second item, role icons are missing in nUI 5.06.04 -- to be honest, I wasn't aware of them and none of the PTR test people ever mentioned them. I'll try to get them added to the next update.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
12-09-09, 09:33 AM   #4
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,492
Sorry Scott, I only knew about it due to browsing through the source code for another query. I wasn't aware that you weren't aware
__________________
 
12-09-09, 09:43 AM   #5
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
No worries ~smile~
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
12-09-09, 10:10 AM   #6
Jungleanimal
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 104
I got a load error last night after starting with a fresh Interface and WTF folder. I had loaded nUI and Skada only so the issue might be with Skada. nUI only loaded half way then a Blizzard error frame came up and told me that my addons were causing a lot of errors and to disable them. After trying it again it worked. I don't know if mine was the same error as yours but it sounds similar.
 
12-09-09, 10:13 AM   #7
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,492
If you can repeatedly make it go wrong on logging in try doing the same without skada enabled and see if that stops it from happening.
__________________
 
12-09-09, 11:34 AM   #8
Petrah
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Petrah's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,988
I've never seen roll icons before. The only one I ever see is the raid leader. I know they're being set because I see em in the raid window... I've just never seen them on the unit frames.

Edit: I'm talking about the main tank and off tank icons.
__________________
♪~ ( ) I My Sonos!
AddOn Authors: If your addon spams the chat box with "Addon v8.3.4.5.3 now loaded!", please add an option to disable it!

Last edited by Petrah : 12-09-09 at 11:40 AM.
 
12-09-09, 12:31 PM   #9
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,492
Hmm, I can't find where I saw about the Role Icons now. I was sure it was in one of the wowcompares files..... will keep looking though.

Ah, here is what sparked my memory .. PlayerFrame.lua

Code:
function PlayerFrame_UpdateRolesAssigned()
	local frame = PlayerFrame;
	local icon = _G[frame:GetName().."RoleIcon"];
	local isTank, isHealer, isDamage = UnitGroupRolesAssigned("player");
	
	if ( isTank ) then
		icon:SetTexCoord(0, 19/64, 22/64, 41/64);
		icon:Show();
	elseif ( isHealer ) then
		icon:SetTexCoord(20/64, 39/64, 1/64, 20/64);
		icon:Show();
	elseif ( isDamage ) then
		icon:SetTexCoord(20/64, 39/64, 22/64, 41/64);
		icon:Show();
	else
		icon:Hide();
	end
end
It is called when the following event is captured :

Code:
	elseif ( event == "PLAYER_ROLES_ASSIGNED" ) then
		PlayerFrame_UpdateRolesAssigned();
	end
Hopefully that helps you somewhat Scott.
__________________

Last edited by Xrystal : 12-09-09 at 12:34 PM.
 
12-09-09, 12:46 PM   #10
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Thanks Xrystal.

Petrah... these are a new feature for Patch 3.3 -- they tell if you are in the raid group as a tank, healer or DPS... they're a change from the old raid leader / tank / ot icons.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
12-10-09, 10:21 AM   #11
Petrah
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Petrah's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,988
There's an icon that the raid leader gets, and you can see the tiny gold kings crown icon on the raid leaders unit frame. When the main tank and off tank are chosen in the raid window by the raid leader, you can see two other tiny gold crown icons in the raid window on their names. The problem is that I don't see those icons on the unit frames.
__________________
♪~ ( ) I My Sonos!
AddOn Authors: If your addon spams the chat box with "Addon v8.3.4.5.3 now loaded!", please add an option to disable it!
 
12-10-09, 10:22 AM   #12
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Hmmm... you should. nUI does support the raid leader/party leader icons as well at the tank and off-tank icons. I'll have to look and see if I can figure out what's going on there.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
12-10-09, 10:26 AM   #13
Petrah
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Petrah's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,988
You're the bomb... thanks!!
__________________
♪~ ( ) I My Sonos!
AddOn Authors: If your addon spams the chat box with "Addon v8.3.4.5.3 now loaded!", please add an option to disable it!
 
 

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » Support » nUI: Bug Reports » Two bugs

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off