01-17-05, 02:30 PM   #1
guice
A Cobalt Mageweaver
Cide, LUA Learning

Where did you pick it up? and did you use an IDE when you were first learning it? I'm interested in getting to know the language, but IDE's are a problem. Don't think I found any real IDE except for some SF project that wasn't done, but showed "promise".

*Edit -- Can a mod move this to LUA Scripting? I just realized there was a spereate forum for that.
01-17-05, 04:05 PM   #2
Cide
Swedeheart
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Well, I've always been good at programming(I know(more or less) PHP, ASP, Flash AS, mIRC script, LUA, C++, HTML), so I got a little help from that. I started learning LUA when our fansite wanted to make a UI mod. What I did was to read the interface files Blizzard has written. LUA is a really easy language to learn too, if you have previous experience in programming. All in all, it took me about a week to get a good grip on LUA .
01-17-05, 04:07 PM   #3
Goatus
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Well i personaly started from reading through lua manual (http://www.lua.org/manual/5.0/) but honestly it didn't help much. Maybe it is only me but i found that manual rather complicated and all it gave me was some basic info about lua.

Then i moved to orginal blizzard lua scripts (just use blizzard interface customization tool to unpack scripts from mpq files (http://www.blizzard.com/support/wow/?id=aww01669p) and existing addons. Lua is similar in many aspects to many programing languages which i had learned previously, so it was pretty easy. Just read lua scripts from some small adons and small interface parts like durability frame or player frame (leave action bars at the end because i think they are most complicated) and then start experimenting with what you have learned.