Quantcast
How Do I Make My UI Fit All Resolutions? - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
06-18-07, 04:47 PM   #1
Rosoaa
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Rosoaa's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 107
How Do I Make My UI Fit All Resolutions?

Hey guys,

I have been trying to make my UI (Rosoaa's UI) fit all resolutions. Photek UI has 2 versions of 8.1, 1 for all normal resolutions and 1 for all wide resolutions. I have been getting requests to make my UI fit a certain resolution, which can be a real pain. My monitor currently only uses 1024x768 resolution in WoW, otherwise I have to resize my monitor and configure the WTF file. 1 file for the normal versions and 1 for wide is so much easier, instead of having a file for each resolution. It can get really confusing and screw things up. Not to mention if you have 2 different layouts. Thats like 20 files LOL. How do I make the 2 WTF folders fit all? And what is an easy way to configure the 2 folders.

Thanks
__________________
Rosoaa's UI
  Reply With Quote
06-18-07, 05:02 PM   #2
Mazzlefizz
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Mazzlefizz's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,521
Originally Posted by Rosoaa
Hey guys,

I have been trying to make my UI (Rosoaa's UI) fit all resolutions. Photek UI has 2 versions of 8.1, 1 for all normal resolutions and 1 for all wide resolutions. I have been getting requests to make my UI fit a certain resolution, which can be a real pain. My monitor currently only uses 1024x768 resolution in WoW, otherwise I have to resize my monitor and configure the WTF file. 1 file for the normal versions and 1 for wide is so much easier, instead of having a file for each resolution. It can get really confusing and screw things up. Not to mention if you have 2 different layouts. Thats like 20 files LOL. How do I make the 2 WTF folders fit all? And what is an easy way to configure the 2 folders.

Thanks
The resolution doesn't matter. It's the aspect ratio. All resolutions at the same aspect ratio will configure the same. There are three commonly-used aspect ratios: 1.33 (normal), 1.6 (typical wide) and 1.25 (usually 1280x1024, surprisingly common). In my UI, I check the resolution upon installation and configure the add-ons conditionally in response.
__________________
MazzleUI Home Page: Mazzlefizz.WoWInterface.com
Info, FAQs, Forums, Download can be found at that link.
  Reply With Quote
06-18-07, 05:14 PM   #3
Rosoaa
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Rosoaa's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 107
Originally Posted by Mazzlefizz
The resolution doesn't matter. It's the aspect ratio. All resolutions at the same aspect ratio will configure the same. There are three commonly-used aspect ratios: 1.33 (normal), 1.6 (typical wide) and 1.25 (usually 1280x1024, surprisingly common). In my UI, I check the resolution upon installation and configure the add-ons conditionally in response.
Where and what is the aspect ratio? Is it in the video options or is it configured throughout each mod? And does this mean I will need 3 different WTF files for each ratio? Also if I make the aspect ratios the way you said my UI will stay on the screen, even if someone uses a different resolution?
__________________
Rosoaa's UI

Last edited by Rosoaa : 06-18-07 at 05:17 PM.
  Reply With Quote
06-19-07, 01:45 PM   #4
Mazzlefizz
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Mazzlefizz's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,521
Yes, aspect ratio is your width divided by your height. And if you make versions for those three aspect ratios, it will look correct for 95% of the people out there. In all the time I've had my UI configure stuff based on aspect ratio, I have only had 2 or 3 people who reported running at a different aspect ratio like 1.77 or something.
__________________
MazzleUI Home Page: Mazzlefizz.WoWInterface.com
Info, FAQs, Forums, Download can be found at that link.
  Reply With Quote
06-19-07, 02:04 PM   #5
Rosoaa
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Rosoaa's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 107
How do I change the aspect ratio? Aspect ratio is all new to me, I have no idea where it is and how to change it.
__________________
Rosoaa's UI
  Reply With Quote
06-19-07, 02:07 PM   #6
Dreadlorde
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Dreadlorde's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,302
aspect ration is the width of your screen divided by the height of you screen like mazzle said.
__________________

Funtoo - Plan 9 - Windows 7
  Reply With Quote
06-19-07, 02:18 PM   #7
Rosoaa
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Rosoaa's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 107
So, basically if I configure a WTF file for 1024x768, 1280x1024, and a wide screen resolution I am good to go? Doing that will also work with the other resolutions with the same aspect ratio?

Thanks for the help
__________________
Rosoaa's UI
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Help/Support » How Do I Make My UI Fit All Resolutions?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off