Quantcast
Mac/Pc UI Problems? - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
04-24-10, 05:08 PM   #1
Bexl
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Mac/Pc UI Problems?

So I love making my own custom UI's and I have been making some for friends recently.

I've encountered a problem in the compression/transferring of specifically the WTF folders and various artwork. I work on a mac, my friends have PC's. Is there anything special I'm supposed to be doing in the compression stages that I'm missing? Will WTF folders transfer over platforms?

I can post a screenie if needed.
  Reply With Quote
04-24-10, 05:35 PM   #2
mankeluvsit
An Onyxian Warder
 
mankeluvsit's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 350
i wouldnt think there would be a problem?

post a screenie
  Reply With Quote
04-24-10, 05:49 PM   #3
aceman67
A Theradrim Guardian
 
aceman67's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 67
if you're saving as a zip file, you should be ok.
  Reply With Quote
04-24-10, 06:25 PM   #4
Bexl
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Screenies

Here is how it looks on my screen

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v5...Picture3-2.png


Here is how it looks on his screen

http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=fka0ip&s=5



It looks like everything is there, but the settings just aren't right, which is why I suspected the WTF folder. Also he is unable to open the artwork TGA files at all. I walked him through setting up the WTF folder, putting the account name, realm name, character name, etc.

I did zip it up, and he unzipped it using Rar.

Last edited by Bexl : 04-24-10 at 06:26 PM. Reason: Edited for More Information
  Reply With Quote
04-25-10, 01:02 AM   #5
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,759
UIs and addons are platform independent (meaning it makes no difference whether you're on a PC, Mac, or Linux). Your friend either did not put the WTF folder in the correct location or did not rename the folders correctly. When renaming the Account folder, they need to use their actual WoW account name and not the umbrella b.net account.


/edit: also, your friend will be able to open up .tga files to view/edit if they have a program that supports .tga files. WoW will see them regardless.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh


Last edited by Seerah : 04-25-10 at 01:05 AM.
  Reply With Quote
04-25-10, 04:20 AM   #6
mankeluvsit
An Onyxian Warder
 
mankeluvsit's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 350
you also have to setup the profiles.
  Reply With Quote
04-25-10, 12:43 PM   #7
Bexl
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks Seerah, I figured it was something like that but I hadn't thought that maybe he put the bnet account in instead of the handle. I'll check on that today.

Also... set up profiles? (Forgive the ignorance of terminology, still teaching myself all of this)
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » General Authoring Discussion » Mac/Pc UI Problems?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off