Quantcast How-to Synchronize WoW for multiple computers - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
02-18-07, 09:34 PM   #1
Thrae
A Cyclonian
 
Thrae's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 42
How-to Synchronize WoW for multiple computers

Did you know you can just copy an already patched World of Warcraft directory instead of patching each and every computer? Or just want your macros and/or saved variables sync'd?

Here's a Windows script. You'll need robocopy, which can be found in the Windows 2003 Resource Kit: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...DisplayLang=en

On your "host" computer, make your World of Warcraft folder a shared folder. On all other computers with World of Warcraft, map the new shared folder to z:. To map a drive, go to My Computer, Tools menu option, "Map Network Drive". Now here's the script you can make into a batch file:

Code:
robocopy z: "C:\Program Files\World of Warcraft" /E /R:1 /W:1 /PURGE /XF %0.bat *enUS-downloader* *enUS-patch* Config.* layout-cache.txt /XD *Patch*
If you want it to then call Launcher.exe, then add:

Code:
call "C:\Program Files\World of Warcraft\Launcher.exe"
exit
__________________
Yes, I was a Tauren. Yes, it was bigger.

Last edited by Thrae : 02-18-07 at 09:40 PM.
  Reply With Quote
02-19-07, 12:03 AM   #2
Tekkub
Featured Artist
 
Tekkub's Avatar
Featured
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 960
Robocopy comes in Vista... about damn time. And you can shift-right-click to get "Open command line here" too.

I always hated the powertoys... they should have never been seperate from the OS, they're oh so useful. Notice that the Vista alt-tab window looks a lot like the XY Alt-tab enhancer powertoy?

MS is finally starting to get **** right.

Oh and robocopy can use network paths, no need to map drives. Just make sure you add /Z to that command so that robocopy can continue if it gets disconnected.
  Reply With Quote
03-12-07, 07:13 AM   #3
Mizer18
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
 
Mizer18's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 51
Now if only Vista came with a button for more bacon...
__________________
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » General Discussion » Chit-Chat » How-to Synchronize WoW for multiple computers

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off