07-03-10, 08:06 AM   #1
Flarin
A Frostmaul Preserver

AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Accounts hacked.. Banned... Cry...

I never thought it would happen to me. Never. I am an IT professional. I don't visit disreputable websites. I don't download torrents. I don't use hacked or cracked software or run key generators.

6 years of toons on 2 accounts gone overnight.

What worries me the absolute MOST is I don't know how it happened, so I don't know how to prevent it from happening again. My password was an odd string of characters.

I know we have all heard stories like this before, and probably most people sneered thinking - "you did something wrong". Well, if I did, I certainly don't know what it is.

This is very upsetting. It is like a "violation" of my personal space really. Sure it sucks that even if I get "some" of my characters back I probably won't get everything. Sure I lost close to 100,000 gold, which may not be much now, but it was earned pre-Lich King for the most part which makes it a little harder.

Thanks for reading my rant. I can't bring myself to play the 1 of my 2 accounts that is still not "banned" for gold selling - just looking at all those level 1 bots on all those realms makes me sick. Names like "wjkeeksdsdfd" and such - ugh it hurts.

"I will crush and destroy and...ooo...shiny..."

07-03-10, 08:48 AM   #2
Taryble
A Molten Giant

Oh, ouch man! That sucks. I thought the same thing before I got hacked - programmer, general geek, been using a computer since '85, yadda yadda. Arrogant about it, no virus scanner, no adbot scan, etc. Logged on one day to find an authenticator attached to my account, and all the gear from my 3 80s, my 70, and my personal guild bank gone. Changed my password immediately, downloaded a virus scanner and adbot-search-and-destroy, then called Blizzard.

Thankfully, I hadn't been used for gold-selling. Maybe they'll reinstate if you call and talk to them?
07-03-10, 09:25 AM   #3
Flarin
A Frostmaul Preserver