04-30-16, 04:00 PM   #1
Ishayu
A Defias Bandit
Overwriting a default addon

Hi everybody,

I'm a little new to addon development, but I have identified a need in Legion for a personal stat squish of sorts by basically going through the UI and reducing the size of health, damage, healing, and mana (not other resources) displayed in the game. Why? Cause we're gonna have 2 million health and do 400k DPS and a lot of people don't like such big numbers, myself included.

While addons are easy to deal with (I can hook their scripts based on what events they are registered and their execution path is already tainted, so me redirecting their calls and then returning them, somewhat like an interceptor, does no real harm) the default UI is quite different.

The default UI often calls protected functions, and so if I change any underlying function it gets tainted! And the default UI does a lot of nasty things it couldn't do if it was tainted, such as showing or hiding unit frames in combat.

This causes problems for example, if I do this and place the addon first in the load order (by calling it !aSquishMe for instance):

local _UnitHealth = UnitHealth

function UnitHealth( unit )
-- Get original function value
local ret = _UnitHealth(unit)
if (isTimewalking) then return ret end
-- Test if returns nil
if (ret == nil) then return ret end
-- Check level range
local level = _UnitLevel("player")
if (level and (level < 1 or level > _maxLevel)) then return ret end
--Apply squish
return floor(ret*dsn[level])
end

and this works fine for every single unit frame I can think of, but the minute TargetFrameToT:Show() fires in TargetFrame.lua in the default UI, for instance, I get problems.

Is there anything I can realistically do about this? Should I pick an entirely different approach and, if yes, what would you recommend? I'd really like to not have to literally hook into every addon on the planet, to be honest, but if that's the only way then so be it.
04-30-16, 04:35 PM   #2
Folji